Red Dog

Today was an annual leave day. I headed out just after breakfast for an hour or so on the bike, and then we went to the movies.

We went to see the new Australian movie Red Dog. It is completely awesome, the best Australian movie I’ve seen, and in my best ever list of all movies too.

It is based on the true story of a beautiful Australian Kelpie who united the mining community at Hamersley Iron, Dampier in the 1970s. Don’t forget to take the box of tissues though it is a bit of a tear-jerker – it certainly got me all choked-up.

Rachael Taylor is absolutely gorgeous (I don’t know what Matthew Newton was thinking when they were in a relationship), and the soundtrack includes some great 70s music including Stevie Wright, Daddy Cool, Rose Tattoo and The Dingoes.

Koko, the Australian Kelpie is the star of the movie, and is a beautiful dog, his facial expressions are amazing. Check out this You Tube video of his “screen test” with director Kriv Stenders.

Or check out the official movie trailer (which doesn’t really do it justice).

You’ve got to go see this movie. 10 out of 10.

4 Responses to “Red Dog”

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I haven’t heard of that movie that, but if it’s coming to the cinemas over here, I’ll try to watch it!

  2. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    Thanks for the review, Andrew! I’m a sucker for dog movies and that dog is gorgeous!

  3. Bill Wallace Says:

    Yeah, probably take the FBH to see it tonight … I’ll choke but I won’t cry! 🙂

  4. Pippa * Jeanne Says:

    Will keep an eye open for it here, too!

    I liked Rachael Taylor in Bottle Shock as well.

Leave a Reply

