Pom …

Another busy day at work, and just a short home workout tonight. Will finish today at about 1am with another late night teleconference.

As I said yesterday, Kath tagged me, with the request to tell you all seven things about myself and I decided to do it one a day over the next week. Here’s todays installment.

Things You May Not Know About Me – No. 2

I am not actually Australian. In fact I am a pom. I was born in Oxford, England and lived most of my early childhood in Hadleigh, Essex. My father took a job in Australia with Ford Motor Company when I was 10 years old, so our family migrated to Geelong, Victoria, about 75 kilometres from Melbourne. Interestingly, I found out from my mum and dad only a few weeks ago that the original plan was to come out to Australia for two years, but here we are 42 years later.

Thinking about this made me think of a few of my childhood memories of England, I don’t have many, but here are some.

Hadleigh Castle was a historic site only a few miles from our home,
it dates back to the year 1215.

 

Hadleigh was only a short drive from Southend-on-Sea, one of the east coast of England’s premiere seaside resorts. One of Southend’s features that I remember well was Southend Pier. I’m not sure if it still is, but back then, at over 2km long, it was the world’s longest “pleasure pier”.

Behind our house in Hadleigh was the Hadleigh Great Wood, and one of the favourite things I can remember doing was going and looking for badgers in the wood. Badgers are notoriously hard to spot, but that just makes the few times you do see them extra special.

Another memory I have is walks to White Horse Hill when we were visiting my grandparents in Oxford. The “White Horse” at Uffington, Oxfordshire is over 100 metres long and formed on the hillside from deep trenches filled with crushed chalk. It dates back some 3,000 years to the Bronze Age.

Perhaps some of my fondest memories though are from the last family holiday we had in the UK. We visited Scotland and stayed mainly at a little harbour town called Findochty.

It is really quite distressing to see what is going on in the “mother country” right now. Hard to believe that there is rioting in the streets.

3 Responses to “Pom …”

  1. offthelongrun Says:

    Great memories mate – I see that they called off the Eng v Holland game also and WHU lost at the weekend!

  2. morseyruns Says:

    I like to think that Aussies are too laid back to riot- but then I forgot about the G20 riots a few years back which was just a bunch of misguided uni students who threw a bin at a truck. Looking forward to the next things about you!

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Aww. Thank you for sharing those lovely memories! I had no idea you were born not too far away (from me). 🙂

Leave a Reply

