Basketball …

Another busy day at work, and the crappy weather has convinced me to stay indoors and call today an exercise rest day.

Continuing my one a day series caused by Kath’s tag, here’s todays installment.

Things You May Not Know About Me – No. 3

For many years I was heavily involved in junior basketball, both as a coach and an administrator.

This was not something I planned, and was somewhat surprising as I knew nothing about basketball. Chris had played one season with the newly formed local basketball club and at a registration night it was announced that his team would not be viable unless someone volunteered to coach them. One of the other dads and I agreed to take it on together, but it quickly became just me. As I said, I knew nothing, but threw myself enthusiastically into the task. Reading lots of books, attending training sessions with more experienced coaches gave me the confidence and I quickly fell in love with coaching the kids. When Kate started playing at Under 8’s age I found myself coaching two teams.

I also found myself volunteering on the committee of the club (it was actually a case of there only being enough people turn up to the Annual General Meeting to fill the required committee spots)  and despite not being at all “financial” found myself the treasurer. I was treasurer for about 6 years and then president for about 5 years, and am proud to say we grew a small, struggling club into the biggest and most successful club in the association.

As the treasurer and president of the local club I also started mixing with those that ran the local association and quickly got recruited onto the board of management. After a couple of years I found myself running the whole Junior Domestic program for the region, and then when Chris started playing at the representative level found myself running the Boys Representative program for the association.

I was lucky that the teams I coached enjoyed modest success. The boys won a few premierships and the girls were nearly always in the Grand Final and won a few too. Probably my proudest year as a coach was 2003 when the boys won back-to-back Under 18 A Grade premierships. The u18 Boys A Grade grand final was always the last game of the day and played on the show court to a large crowd. We played the same team in consecutive grand finals and came out on top in two cracking games.

The girl’s team I coached has been really special because the core of the team stayed the same all the way through from U8s to U18s and even continued on into coaching them in an adult competition for a few seasons. I still see the girls often and they still call me “coach”.

Other achievements I’m really proud of are;

  • that all my teams always demonstrated very good sportsmanship
  • attaining my Level 1 and Level 2 Basketball Coaching qualifications
  • having 6 articles published in the Australian Basketball Coaches Association journal
  • setting up a club website with lots of coaching resources that still gets heaps of hits and appreciative comments from coaches all around the world

My involvement in junior basketball as an administrator was often frustrating and always hard work but gave me a lot of satisfaction. Even though I haven’t been involved with the club for about five years now, I still feel proud and happy when I see local kids around the suburb or at the shops on a Saturday in their club uniforms.

I think that the time I spent coaching “my teams” is some of the happiest and most fulfilling of my life. It was a great opportunity to spend quality time with my kids and their friends, and I really feel that involvement in junior sport is a really valuable experience for kids. It has been a wonderful experienced if you have the opportunity to do something similar I would highly recommend it.

2 Responses to “Basketball …”

  1. Carla Says:

    I am enjoying getting to know a little bit more about you! My husband has been coaching hockey for the boys for several years now. It can be frustrating but also very rewarding!

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Wow, this is awesome! I love with how much commitment you took up the task! And isn’t it funny how life puts us into places we never had thought of ending up at? 🙂

Leave a Reply

