Woosh …

That was the sound of another weekend whizzing past. Why do they disappear so fast?

Last night we went out to dinner with some friends and decided to brave Crown/Southbank. I couldn’t believe how many people were around, and we walked a fair bit before we found a restaurant that didn’t have a 45 minute wait for a table. We ended up at a nice Italian place though and I had a nice Tasmanian Salmon fillet. A nice night.

This morning Kate and I went for a bike ride, I took the mountain bike which has been a bit neglected recently. I introduced Kate to some of the local hills for the first time and she managed them well.

Adrienne and I went for a drive this afternoon out to Mernda. Plan was coffee and cake at the Mernda Bakery which we’d seen written up in the paper recently. When we arrived though the Closed sign was up. I got out of the car to read the opening hours sign on the gate, and was just getting back in the car when the owner came out and said to come in because they’d only just closed. Very good customer service that, and a nice coffee and some yummy cakes too!

A slow 6km run tonight to try and work off some of those cakes!

Things You May Not Know About Me – No 6

When I was younger I was quite a good soccer player. I played for the South Barwon club in Geelong and captained my high school team for the last three years of school. In Form Four (Year 10) we won the Geelong High Schools competition. During my last two years with South Barwon I also trained with and played a few games with the senior squad.

I still love watching soccer, but my knees are well past it, given the amount of twisting and turning and sideways movement needed. In fact, I think that the amount of training and playing I did as a junior (sometimes training 2 or 3 times a week and playing 2 games on a weekend), may be a big contributor to my knee problems. That and being 30-40kg overweight for 20+ years.

Being a West Ham United supporter also makes following the soccer somewhat painful 🙂

5 Responses to “Woosh …”

  1. Pippa * Jeanne Says:

    The same way a Springbok supporter here in South Africa for the rugby makes watching matches somewhat (if not totally) painful at the moment. Australia thrashed us AGAIN yesterday!

    I’m crossing my fingers that the World Cup will go better…

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Sorry to hear about your knees! I have problems with my elbow joint, so I had to give up yoga which I loved and used to do every morning. 😦 Sounds like you’re a sportman with quite the broad focus, though! 😀

  3. JH Says:

    So you like West Ham, but you also claim to like soccer. When you get time, I suggest you google “cognitive dissonance”.

  4. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Hi Andrew. I enjoyed your blog today and I know I am a bit late, but congrats to all of you Australians on Cadel Evans winning the Tour de France!!! I loved every minute of the tour this year. My husband even PVRed it for me so I could watch it when I got back from Bermuda.

  5. Carla Says:

    Yes, the weekend did go by very fast, and the summer seems to be passing by just as fast! Wah!!!

Leave a Reply

