Hay-carting …

On yesterdays post John asked “Do you ever feel like going back to the hay-carting?” which really got me thinking about it, and the answer is a resounding “YES”. I have many fond memories of that job, even though it was probably the physically hardest job I’ve ever done. I worked for a young farmer couple, John and Jeannette, who were family friends. I did it for two seasons when I was 16 and 17. John was a typical farmer, a very hard worker and he seemed capable of doing anything with his hands. I was constantly in awe of his strength, stamina and ability to fix stuff. Jeannette was lovely, and I have to admit that I had a huge crush on her. I actually admitted that to her when we saw each other at mum and dad’s 50th wedding anniversary a few years back!

It was when I was hay-carting that I started drinking black tea, and sometimes when I smell a nice strong cup of tea it still brings the memory of hay-carting back. It was such hard work that the tea breaks were so looked forward to. We would always have the radio on in the truck while we were working and sometimes when I hear a song from back then it reminds me too. Anyone remember Ted Mulry Gang “Jump In My Car” or Ol ’55 “On The Prowl”?

It was long hours of physical work, there were blisters and aching hands, but I can remember it being very satisfying. Of course, working outside in the summer sun was wonderful too. I’m not sure I could handle the physical work now at my age, but a job without as much mental stress, politics and managing other people’s issues is very attractive.

The booklist packing job was enjoyable too, primarily because the group of young people I was working with were so much fun. The job itself was pretty boring. The other two jobs were plain horrible and didn’t last very long because I hated them. Working on the bakery production line was hot and monotonous. The only advantage was we got all the footy cards that came in the bread back then. The rifle range job was just plain dangerous. Hunkered down in a little underground bunker for hours at a time, loading a clay target on the swing arm of the launcher and making sure to get your hand  out of the way before it was launched was about it. I’m sure this job wouldn’t get past the health and safety people these days.

I managed to get out on the bike tonight for the first time for a few days and enjoyed my short ride despite the cold dull evening.

3 Responses to “Hay-carting …”

  1. Maureen Says:

    What are “footy cards”. Today’s post was very interesting. I’m remembering some old jobs now, as well.

  2. morseyruns Says:

    Hay fever and snakes- the two downsides to hay carting for me!

  3. JH Says:

    I was kinda joking, but good to hear it anyway.

Leave a Reply

