Weekend catchup …

Well, once again the weekend has flown past, seems like if you blink you miss them these days.

As always, Saturday morning saw my weekly weigh-in, and I recorded my heaviest weight for the year at 74.1kg. Not surprising after a week that saw low exercise due to crappy weather (and some lack of motivation) and also a little bit of off-track eating. Not to worry, still inside the 70-75kg target range and next week looks more promising weather wise, so hopefully there will be a consequent rise in motivation too.

Yesterday morning we headed off to the Home Show. We are thinking about renovating our kitchen later in the year and were looking for ideas. There were certainly lots of things to see, a few too many really, it gets a bit overwhelming. The highlight of the show for me though was the Bose stand, their audio-visual gear is awesome. I’ve heard about their noise-cancelling headphones but have never had a chance to try them. In the middle of their stand at a busy Home Show is certainly a testing environment for them, but boy are they good. They cut out the surrounding noise completely and all you can hear is their brilliant reproduction of the sound coming through. We also saw their new VideoWave digital TV set which is awesome too, amazing surround sound with no external speakers. Just a shame their price tags are pretty high too, oh well we ย can dream can’t we?

We did make a purchase at the show (well we’ve paid for it anyway, hopefully to be delivered in a couple of weeks). It’s one of these.

I’ve wanted a decent coffee machine for a while, but we haven’t got a lot of room to put one. These are small, not too expensive, easy to operate and the coffee we sampled was great. So, I guess I can expect a slight increase in my caffeine levels!

Late afternoon I went for two rides. A quick 30 minutes on the road bike while Kate got ready, then a bit over an hour with her on the mountain bike.

Sunday started off with an early morning ride (including my first magpie swoop of the season), then we did our normal Saturday shopping run that we hadn’t been able to do yesterday. After lunch we spent a couple of hours doing garden chores including mowing and edging the lawn and some pruning. Then Kate and I headed out for another ride.

A short home workout ended the day, so four bike rides and a home workout is not a bad effort for the weekend. Hopefully the start of a good exercise week!

Maureen, “footy cards” are collector cards for our Australian Rules Football which we call “footy” for short. They used to give them away in loaves of bread, but haven’t done that for quite a few years.

4 Responses to “Weekend catchup …”

  1. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    I went for a bike ride yesterday as well. I didn’t realize that my daughter has a bike I can use (I am about five inches shorter than my daughters). It was great being back on the bike. It doesn’t even hurt my sore hip. I guess because it is not weight bearing.

  2. sassydrcil Says:

    74.1kg….use my excuse…..some fluid retention.
    Dude, you are heavier than me, for once. You can throw me over your shoulder!

  3. Beki Says:

    I luuuuuuuurve our Nespresso machine – my caffeine consumption has sky rocketed since then though ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    What a beautiful coffee machine! My dad has a Nespresso machine for about a year now, and it’s so much fun! He has a big box with capsules (different kinds of coffee), and when I visit my parents, I enjoy to try them and figure out which ones I like best. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Noise-killing headphones are a standard equipment in some labs at the psychological institutes in Heidelberg, because the front building lies at the pedestrial area, and there’s always a lot of noise coming up from the street, and there are also a lot of street musicians. If you have an office that looks at the pedestrial area, you’ll notice that they only know two songs they repeat over and over again …

Leave a Reply

