Six year “Shrink-aversary”

Today is my six year “Shrink-aversary”, that is celebrating my sixth year of successful weigh maintenance under my 75kg goal weight, after being about 110kg for a lot of years. It is a constant battle, that requires a fairly concentrated vigilance, and lots of commitment to regular exercise, but is well worth the effort!

Maureen, to answer your question on yesterdays post, my home workouts are a mixture of;

  • various stretching exercises, mainly calves, quads and hamstrings
  • a few different leg exercises that were prescribed by my physio to strengthen my quads, glutes and vmo muscle group to battle my knee pain
  • a few core exercises (eg sit-ups, pilates exercises, front and side planks, some work with a medicine ball)
  • upper body exercises with free weights (eg shoulder presses, bicep curls, upright rows, chest presses)
  • some body weight exercises like squats and push-ups
  • some work with a swiss ball
  • self-massage with a foam roller, mainly on calves, quads and ITB

When I’m running and riding a lot, the physio-prescribed exercises, stretching and self-massage seem to take up a higher percentage of the time than the real “work-out exercises” but I think these are just as important, especially as we age! I think about it as preventative maintenance!

7 Responses to “Six year “Shrink-aversary””

  1. offthelongrun Says:

    Well done mate – and as we’ve discussed many times the real battle is the maintenance. Six years is a supreme achievement.

  2. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Wow! I had no idea you had been in maintenance so long. It is a constant battle but you are winning!!! Good for you!

  3. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    Congratulations, Andrew! You’re such an inspiration to me!

  4. Tammy Says:

    Congratulations! That is awesome – six years. I hope to be just like you in seven.

  5. Pippa * Jeanne Says:

    That’s really AWESOME, Andrew – congratulations! You’re an inspiration to us all!

  6. sassydrcil Says:

    You have done well, Andrew.

  7. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Congratulations! You’re awesome! 😀

Leave a Reply

