Melbourne … most livable city

Melbourne has once again been ranked as the best city in the world to live, according to the latest Economist Intelligence Unit’s Global Liveability Survey. Australia had three other cities in the top 10 (Sydney 6th with Adelaide and Perth equal 8th). So, it appears that we really are the lucky country! Canada also faired very well with Vancouver, Toronto and Calgary coming in 3rd, 4th and 5th.

Melbourne is a great city to live, I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else.

Here are some of my favourite Melbourne spots, what are some of yours?

The City of Melbourne is split by the Yarra River and the paths along the side of the river are a great place for a walk, run or ride.

Through attending Melbourne University for three years, Lygon Street, Carlton became a favourite haunt. A great place for a meal, or just a walk and a gelati! The seafood risotto at University Cafe is one of my favourite meals.

I think that about 70% of my bike riding is done along the Moonee Ponds Creek Trail.

Again, through living at Melbourne University for three years, Princes Park is another great spot for a walk or a run.

When we were first married Adrienne and I lived in Moonee Ponds, just opposite Queen’s Park. We frequently took the kid’s there for walks when they were young, and still take the dog there occassionally.

Williamstown is gorgeous, and another great spot for a weekend meal. It is also a frequent destination for Sunday rides with Herb.

Beach Road is Melbourne’s favourite cycling destination, and the Black Rock roundabout is a frequent turn-around point for us.

The Docklands precinct is another lovely spot for a meal or a coffee, and another frequent Sunday morning bike ride “coffee stop”.

The rather unusual buildings that make up Federation Square in the centre of the city seem to be either loved or hated by Melburnians. I am one who loves them. It is a great meeting place and is the start for many running events through the year. And of course, The Transport is the after race “watering hole” too!

11 Responses to “Melbourne … most livable city”

  1. offthelongrun Says:

    Ha – it’s a great city – MCG, NGV, Arts Centre, Museum, Tennis Centre, Lygon St, Victoria St, I could go on!

  2. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Melbourne seems like a beautiful city. The photos are stunning. It has always been my dream to travel to Australia. Do you have winter there? I mean with snow.

    • Andrew(AJH) Says:

      We have a winter (in fact today is the last day of winter), but it very rarely snows in Melbourne, and when it does it barely covers the ground. We do get snow up in the mountains (a few hundred kilometres away), enough for the snow skiers.

  3. blues buffett Says:

    Hilarious. Where’s the rain, wind and cold?

  4. Em Says:

    I love Fed Square as well, especially all the pavers in all those earthy colours.

    That picture of the Yarra trail up the top is a classic, how lucky that I get to run along there on my way to or from work!

  5. Pippa * Jeanne Says:

    Andrew, I swear, I’m coming over one of these days to see for myself.

    That’s really top notch to be ranked Nr 1 (no wonder so many South Africans emigrate to Australia). The photos are beautiful – really makes me want to see more!

  6. blues buffett Says:

    It probably does, Andrew. Melbourne is certainly six times better at lousy weather. I know because a. I grew up there b. I jet into there for work and enjoy the bitter winds and famous four seasons. I like Melbourne as a city: it has much to offer. Unless you’re from Northern Europe or east coast of USA though, Melbourne’s weather is too unpredictable and unpleasant.

  7. blues buffett Says:

    BTW, I’m pretty sure the South Africans head to Sydney – and Perth. Come to Sydney and head to The Shire or St Ives and you’ll meet them all.

  8. pizzas Says:

    I blog frequently and I seriously thank you for your information. This
    article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to take a note of your site and keep checking for
    new details about once per week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

Leave a Reply

