Melbourne Marathon

After a lunch-time discussion yesterday with workmate Deb and exchanging blog comments with Alex, who are both running the half marathon at Melbourne Marathon, I started to feel maybe I should be entering something too. After all, if I didn’t it would be the first time since I started running that I have not run an event on Melbourne Marathon day. So, last night I checked out the web site, and the half marathon and 10km races were sold out, leaving the full marathon or the 5km to choose from. Considering that I’ve hardly been running at all, that was a no-brainer, so I’m in for the 5km race.

So, I thought I had better go for a run tonight and get back into it. It ended up a 6km at about 6 min/km pace. Apart from the breathlessness, numb left foot, shin soreness, tight calves, knee pain and the fact my Garmin karked it half way round, it wasn’t a bad run. It’s going to be a tough route back!

Enjoying the footy. Can’t believe the Cats are 50 points up over Collingwood at half time. I just hope I’m still celebrating in a couple of hours. I also have two bottles of red riding on the game to add to the interest.

7 Responses to “Melbourne Marathon”

  1. JH Says:

    Surely there’s enough time to train for the marathon, isn’t there?

  2. offthelongrun Says:

    Good on you Andrew, hopefully I’ll be finishing as you start.

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I think you made a very reasonable decision to choose the 5K! šŸ™‚

  4. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Good for you. It’s great that you are entering the 5K run. And what a good pace!
    My daughter Monica is doing as 5K on Oct. 2, in the CIBC Run for the Cure. Her high school friend recently died from breast cancer at the age of 37.

  5. Ewen Says:

    Hope to see you there. Managed to get into the 10k, so will set myself a goal of doubling your time šŸ˜‰

  6. hokaau Says:

    Or you could always have a crack at the Sydney Marathon and pick up awesome shoes and fast cash prizes from Hoka One One in Australia. Details are below – hope you don’t mind us jumping in on your comments. We all love our long runs and we just want to bring this competition to Aussie road runners ASAP. Thanks!
    http://hokaoneoneaustralia.wordpress.com/2011/09/06/sydney-marathon-your-chance-to-race-fast-in-hoka-one-one-for-cash-prizes/

Leave a Reply

