Happy Father’s Day

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there! My Father’s Day was good, I got a few nice presents and we had a nice family barbecue at our place.

If you’d asked me at the start of 2011 to pick three sports results I’d like to see, two would definitely have been a Tour de France victory for Cadel Evans and another AFL premiership for Geelong. The third would probably have been a gold medal for Sally Pearson, so I was very happy to see her win last night. I still remember her fantastic trackside interview after her silver medal at Beijing, she is a true little Aussie superstar!

I’ve managed to get out on the mountain bike both days this weekend. I got out late afternoon today after our lunch guests had left, and because I was out closer to dusk there were heaps of kangaroos around. They seriously are quite impressive when they are bounding along beside you. I was tearing down a downhill stretch at one point and doing about 30 km/hr, and a big roo was outrunning me and looking like he was doing it easy. And, this guy was just standing right next to a gate post on the track, just like a sentry. Check out the claws though, they could do you some serious damage if they chose to.

3 Responses to “Happy Father’s Day”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    I have a friend who was knocked off his bike by a kangaroo- well that is what they think happened, a shearer found him on the side of the road unconscious with a bit of fur stuck to his bike! Definitely look out of roos- they don’t look out for you! Sally is awesome isn’t she?

  2. JH Says:

    Two out of three ain’t bad.

  3. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    I’ve never seen a kangaroo! I would love to visit Australia some day. Hope your Father’s Day was good. In Canada and the USA, Father’s Day is in June.

Leave a Reply

