“Not a good candidate …”

Usually, “Not a good candidate …” is not something you want to hear spoken about yourself, but when it’s your doctor talking about heart attack and stroke, it’s obviously quite okay!

Today I went back to my doctor to get the results of some blood tests that I’d had done last week. Since it was a couple of years since the last check-up, when I visited him last week he suggested the tests, so I concurred.

He did the FBE (white & red cell counts, haemo-whatsit’s etc), liver function tests (after all it was a screwed up liver that started me on my weight loss journey), cholesterol, fasting blood sugar and PSA (this blood test is definitely better than the alternative test!).

I’m happy to report that every single measurement was within the recommended healthy range.

His comment that my liver function tests were normal “despite all that grog you drink” was a little uncalled for I think. What do you reckon?

A quick 20km on the road bike tonight before it got dark. I should be running, but a bit of knee soreness made the bike look a better option.

11 Responses to ““Not a good candidate …””

  1. Maureen Says:

    Congratulations on your great check up. It’s due to your efforts, I’m sure.

  2. Tish Says:

    Oh, that’s exactly what I’d like to hear at my next check up. More biking less Words with Friends? Congrats on the good report.

  3. Jaykay Says:

    I have also signed up for the 5km run, running with TW Michelle, who hasn’t ever done a fun run before! Am trying to get some consistent runs in before MM so threat I don’t fall down in a big heap at the end.

    And I say all good things in moderation are fine!

  4. Em Says:

    I think that good red wine isn’t grog so you are home and hosed

  5. Carla Says:

    Congrats on the super results!! All your hard work is paying off!!!

  6. Eat Em Says:

    All teh best for teh Kinglake ride on Sunday Andrew….

    Ride safe

    Eat Em

  7. Pippa * Jeanne Says:

    Andrew, that’s just FABULOUS! Congrats!

  8. sassydrcil Says:

    Look at the NHMRC guidelines for alcohol intake, and bear in mind that 1 glass of wine can be more than 1 standard drink.

  9. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Wow, that’s great! Health is such an important thing! 🙂

  10. morseyruns Says:

    Good results Andrew- you do take care of yourself so I am sure that those around you weren’t surprised.

Leave a Reply

