Kindle

I spent a good deal of time on Saturday sorting through my bookshelves and have identified heaps of books that I’m going to get rid of. Our bookshelves were seriously starting to sag under the weight of all the books, and they were all so crammed in, most shelves with two rows of books so you couldn’t even see what was behind. Adrienne did this last week and donated her unwanted books to the Brotherhood of St Laurence who sell them online to raise money. I’m going to do the same with mine.

I got out for a run yesterday and got absolutely drenched. It wasn’t an enjoyable run in the rain either, it was cold and windy and miserable. Now I have a sore knee again. I think I am seriously going to have to give up on running and just be happy being a cyclist.

Speaking of running, I am in awe of friends Mark and Michelle who both completed a 100 mile run this weekend – oh my that is just incredible isn’t it? I’m struggling to make double figures in kilometres and they’re doing triple figures in miles. Well done guys, you are my heroes!

Today I bought myself a Kindle. I’ve wanted one for ages but have never been game to buy one sight unseen. So, now they are available in the shops locally I went and had a look, and bought one. I’ve been doing a bit of e-reading on the iPad, but struggle to read for any length of time due to the weight of the device, and the screen is not ideal for lengthy reading. The Kindle kills both of these issues dead. It is so light, and the screen is incredible.

I know a few of my readers have Kindles, so if you have any suggestions or tips, I’m all ears. Anyway, if I go a bit quiet here, or on the social game playing, it’s because I’m reading more!

First Kindle book is going to be “House Rules” by Jodi Picoult, which I bought a while back but haven’t got around to reading on the iPad, then “Boy Racer” by Mark Cavendish which I bought today.

8 Responses to “Kindle”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    Crime novels by Michael Connelly were my guilty pleasure until I read them all! Now I am into the classics because they are free or cheap. Catcher in the Rye for me tomorrow.

  2. Carla Says:

    I have an ereader too! I love it. Sorry, gotta run – it’s my turn on Words With Friends!!! Lol

  3. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    First of all. I think when we get a little older, we have to be careful when running. I recently told Carla that we should be able to run when we have to. To catch a bus for example. LOL. Second, you should be able to find a lot of free or very inexpensive books. The Kobo reader often has weekend specials when there is say $1 off each book bought. My secret? I just bought the Kobo Touch to replace my nine month old Kobo. I am giving the old one to my daughter, Monica!

  4. JH Says:

    Where can you buy kindles here?

  5. Carla Says:

    Hi again Andrew,
    I just wanted to tell you that I have been having problems with my new blog. Sigh. So I have (once again!) started a new blog, and I hope you will follow along! πŸ™‚

  6. Em Says:

    Told ya a Kindle was more comfortable to read than a back lit device πŸ˜‰

    I hope you love yours as much as I love mine.

Leave a Reply

