GOOC 2012 entries open

Entries opened today for the Great Ocean & Otway Classic 2012 bike ride, one of my favourite rides. A 145km hilly challenge through the beautiful Otway ranges and along the stunning Great Ocean Road.

It’s on Saturday 24th March, 2012 and starts and finishes in Torquay.

The event is organised by Supersprint and they always do a super job, you can get more details and enter at their website here.

Who’s up for the challenge? Come on, you know you want to!

14 Responses to “GOOC 2012 entries open”

  1. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Are you going to sign up for the race? It sounds very hard. About ten years ago we used to regularly do 70 km rides but it has been a while since we did more than about 10 or 15k. I’ll be rooting for you!

    • Andrew(AJH) Says:

      Yeah, I’ll be doing it, I have done this one each of the last three years. It’s a ride though, not a race, although I’ll be looking to go under 5.5 hours for the first time.

  2. Pippa * Jeanne Says:

    Beautiful photo … Good luck, Andrew, sounds like some tough fun!

  3. chrisfit2009 Says:

    Should I do this or the Scody High Country Challenge the weekend before?

    • Andrew(AJH) Says:

      I’ve never done the Scody so can’t really compare, but the GOOC is a challenging (but not too challenging) ride along some of the most scenic road in Australia (the Great Ocean Road part anyway), and the descent into Lorne through the Otways is awesome too.

  4. Andy Round Says:

    Have you registered yet???

  5. Twocatz Says:

    I am going to register today and book some flights. Will come down on the Friday and go back Saturday evening. Not sure what to do about hotel for the Friday night, any suggestions???

    • Andrew(AJH) Says:

      If you do it, no need to book a hotel for the Friday. I usually drive down to Torquay on the Friday night and stay at a friends beach house the night, I’m assuming that will work out this year too and of course you’re invited (both for the drive and the house). We’re close to the airport so I can pick you up too if you like. Also, don’t forget it is an hour and a half.drive back to Melbourne so you wouldn’t want to book too early a flight on Saturday evening. If you’d prefer you could stay at ours on Saturday night, or we could even stay in Torquay and drive back Sunday morning.

      • Twocatz Says:

        You are a star. I am going to book freaky flyer flights later today. What time will you be wanting to head down Torquay?? I will try and get a flight that co-incides. As for coming back would anything after 6pm give us enough time to get back into Melbourne??

  6. Andrew(AJH) Says:

    Andy, last year I drove down after work, left home about 7pm I think, got down there about 8:30pm. I’m happy to come get you whenever, afternoon? I’m my own boss so could take the afternoon off if needed. The ride starts at about 7:30am Saturday morning, but faster groups go off first, I think we’ve normally started a bit after 8am. I’ve always entered the “under 5.5 hours ride time” wave (but am yet to complete in under 5.5 hours). With stops etc the elapsed time is usually more like 7 hours, so wouldn’t be finished until at least 3pm. By the time you collapse for a while at the finish, get back to the house, get changed, load the bikes in the car etc. it would be close to 5pm before we left, then an hour and a half to drive back to Melbourne, any additional time you’d need to get to Airport (we’re only 15 minutes away). If you’re keen to get back Saturday I wouldn’t book any flights before 7:30 ish?

  7. Andy Round Says:

    OK, I’m in. I have completed my rego, now to book flights

  8. Andy Round Says:

    Now I have flights as well. Arriving in Melbourne on the 23rd at 17.05, departing on the 24th at 20.00. All I need t do now is get some training done. I can’t, wait this is going to be a great day.

Leave a Reply

