Once A Runner … now … It’s All About The Bike

Do you like the way I’ve cleverly juxtaposed those two book titles, to reflect the fact that I have decided to officially back off from running, and concentrate on the bike.

Last night I went for a run after work, just my usual 6km loop, but went out a bit faster than normal (not fast by any means for a lot of you, but around 5 minute kilometers, fast compared to what I have been doing). Anyway, at about the half way mark I felt my knee go (my good one, not the one I traditionally have trouble with) and today it is feeling all mashed up, I’m back on the anti-inflammatories, and I was hobbling just walking around the supermarket.

So, here’s what I’ve decided;

  • I will run the Melbourne Marathon 5km I’ve registered for, but it will be more an excuse for a drink afterwards than a race.
  • I am officially abandoning the three running related goals I had for 2011.
  • I am not going to set any running related goals in 2012.

It’s just not worth the pain.

So, it looks like it is going to be a restful weekend as the knee feels too sore to even get out on the bike. Today has been spent lazily, doing a bit of bike maintenance, but mainly reading.

I am loving my Kindle. I love my iPad, but I think I love my Kindle more. It is so “fit for purpose”. I finished “House Rules” by Jodi Picoult today and have started reading “Slapstick” by Kurt Vonnegut. I read all of Vonnegut’s work as a young university student (boy that was a long time ago), and they were only $3.99 each so I bought five of them. That is the only trap with the Kindle (and similar devices) is that it is so easy to buy stuff. Example; the other morning at breakfast I read a Facebook comment from Em regarding Patti Smith’s autobiography “Just Kids”, two minutes later it was on my Kindle.

Does anyone know if you can transfer a Kindle book purchase from one Amazon account to another?

9 Responses to “Once A Runner … now … It’s All About The Bike”

  1. Twocatz Says:

    I will send you some Compex programs for your knee on Monday – there are a couple of ways you can put on the electrodes and use the machine to help you a) get over the pain and b) strengthen the muscles around the knee to prevent this hapening again. Will be good for the riding too.

  2. offthelongrun Says:

    Mate – I feel your pain – let’s have a beer in 3 weeks

  3. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Andrew I saw a report on TV a while ago that cycling is actually good for our knees. Hope you are feeling better soon.

    I love the ereader as well. I just gave my old Kobo to Monica, my daughter in Ottawa, and I bought a new one. Carla has one as well.

  4. Sara Says:

    Wayyyyy to easy to buy stuff on Amazon I agree! Just so you don’t know- you can go for a drink without doing the MM events 😉

  5. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I think this is a good decision! Biking is just more gentle with your joints.

    I used to do yoga every morning a couple of years ago and loved it, but I had to refrain from it too because my elbow joint got inflammed and wrecked. So, I’m focusing on walking now.

    I need a Kindle. 😉

  6. Ewen Says:

    Yes, clever title, but a shame it’s all about the bike. Will look out for you at Melbourne – hopefully the knee’s good for 5k. Interested in your review of the Patti Smith book too.

  7. Em Says:

    Oh, belated response.

    I hope you enjoy Just Kids, it made me weep and that’s no mean feat, Patti just know how to write, she is amazing. What will really strike you is just how amazingly brave she was, just taking off to New York to make a life, I’ll be interested to hear what you think of it. In my case I am also a big Maplethorpe fan so it was a double treat for me.

    Now, I am not sure about the transferring thing but I know you can register more than one Kindle to the same account. Jason and I share an Amazon account with both of our Kindles registered so when either of us buy a book it can be downloaded to both devices.

    • Andrew(AJH) Says:

      Yeah, I’m really looking forward to reading it, it’s in my queue of about 13 ebooks I have to read! We just rearranged our 3 Kindles (mine, Adrienne’s and Kate’s) onto the same account so we can share books too.

Leave a Reply

