Happy days …

Again there is not a lot to report from this end of the world today, so I will fill up the post with another couple of photos that my daughter Kate posted on Facebook last night.

I did manage to ride to work and back today. The knee seemed to survive okay, it didn’t feel particularly strong but didn’t actually hurt either, so I guess I should take that as a win. The ride to work was uneventful, the ride home from work included two magpie swoops and getting chased by a yapping little dog, but I survived both.

The photos below show me “and my girls” from many, many years ago (the first is probably fifteen years ago). I coached “my girls” from when they were “Under 8’s” (so starting when they were about 6 years old) through to adult league (18+), and was lucky enough for a core group of the girls to stay in the team for all that time. I watched them all grow up from gorgeous little kids to beautiful young women, and to be truthful, the time I spent doing this is amongst the happiest of my memories. I’m sitting here at my desk in the study writing this now looking at a signed picture they framed and gave me that I have on the wall, a ceramic plate that was made for me with all the girls names on it when we won the Summer 2000-2001 Grand Final, and numerous other trophies from down the years. Happy days!

My little princess (Kate) is right-most bottom row in the first photo and right-most top row in the second photo.


7 Responses to “Happy days …”

  1. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Those photos are precious! It must have been nice coaching your daughter and her friends. Good luck with the knee.

  2. offthelongrun Says:

    awesome memories mate – you must be be so proud – I’m envious

  3. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Andrew, I nominated you for the versatile blogger award. The rules state that if you accept it, you have to link back to my blog, nominate 15 of your favourite bloggers, provide links to them, inform them personally, and tell seven things about yourself that readers may not know.

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    What wonderful memories! 🙂 Are you still in contact with the girls (other than your daughter ;))?

    • Andrew(AJH) Says:

      Yeah, I’m Facebook friends with five of the girls (six including Kate) and a few of them are still good friends with Kate and one is actually doing the same university course. I still see them around the local area a fair bit, often when I’m out riding or running they are out walking too. And one of them works casually in the local supermarket so I always try an queue at her checkout!

  5. Em Says:

    I haven’t been swooped yet, but I got chased by a yappy dog on my ride home today. Yup I rode! Both too and from work today, 44km in total, so tired now!

Leave a Reply

