Live at Empire Pool, Wembley – 1974

I’ve always been mad, I know I’ve been mad, it’s very hard to explain why you’re mad, even if you’re not mad. Live for today, gone tomorrow, that’s me, HaHaHa! Every year is getting shorter, never seem to find the time – hanging on in quiet desperation is the English way. When I come home cold and tired, it’s good to warm my bones beside the fire. I am not frightened of dying, any time will do, I 
don’t mind. Why should I be frightened of dying? 
There’s no reason for it, you’ve gotta go sometime. Why does anyone do anything? I don’t know, I was really drunk at the time! I mean, they’re not gunna kill ya, so if you give ’em a quick short, sharp, shock, they won’t do it again. Dig it? I mean he get off 
lightly, ‘cos I would’ve given him a thrashing – I only hit him once! 
It was only a difference of opinion, but really…I mean good manners 
don’t cost nothing do they, eh? I can’t think of anything to say except … I think it’s marvelous! HaHaHa!”

So, I guess you’re not going to know what that was all about unless you’re a Pink Floyd fan like me. You probably just thought I really had gone mad. But, if you are a Floyd fan like me you’ll recognise the above as a selection of lyrics from Dark Side of the Moon. So why? Because tonight when I got home I got a really nice surprise. My darling son had bought me a present of the new double-CD “Experience Edition” of DSOTM. It contains a remastered DSOTM album as well as a live version from Wembley in 1974. I listened to the live version as I did my home workout tonight. The best live version of DSOTM I’ve heard. Highly recommended for any Floyd fans out there.

Yesterday Maureen nominated me for the Versatile Blogger award. Thanks Maureen, I’m flattered! As a part of this I’m supposed to let you all know seven things about me that you may not know. Actually, I have been tagged like this twice already this year. The first time was in March, when I responded with this post.

Then last month Kath tagged me with a similar “seven things” request. At that time I really struggled to think of those seven things, and because of that I chose to nominate the seven things over seven days, these were my responses.

  1. I love a beer, and prefer a dark brew
  2. I am actually not Australian, but a pom
  3. For many years I was heavily involved in junior basketball, both as a coach and an administrator
  4. I have had a few nicknames over the years
  5. I am extremely left/right challenged
  6. When I was younger I was quite a good soccer player
  7. My current job is the only proper job I’ve had

So, Maureen I hope that repeating and linking to the previous responses is okay, because I think I’m too boring to think of seven more!

3 Responses to “Live at Empire Pool, Wembley – 1974”

  1. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Andrew, that’s perfectly okay! I really did think you had gone mad. That group was a little after my time. I’m more Elvis, The Beatles! Another question, I’m afraid. What is a pom, or where is a pom from?

  2. CarlaCarla Says:

    I’ve got the radio on at work and they were playing Run Like Hell by Pink Floyd. Love it.

Leave a Reply

