Tough week …

It’s been a tough week. But I guess you had already figured that out due to the lack of posts here.

It’s been a combination of four things.

Work. Still crazy busy and getting nowhere fast.

Knee. My knee has been sore and has been bothering me. It gets really stiff and painful when I’ve been inactive for a while, like sitting at my desk. I’ve managed to get out on the bike most days, but it feels weak when riding too, not sore, but definitely not quite right.

Running. I know that my decision to stop running is the right one for my knee, but it feels terrible. It feels like a part of me has been ripped away. Every time I go into a supermarket or newsagent the Runner’s World magazines taunt me. I’m hoping it will be a break from running rather than “the end”. We’ll see.

Weight. I’ve been stressing about my weight. I had a bad weekend food-wise the weekend of the Melbourne Marathon and was sure all week last week that I was going to go above 75kg for the first time in over six years when I weighed in this Saturday. I know this shouldn’t be a big deal, but it was. I stressed for days. I felt like it was going to be devastating if I failed that weigh-in. It felt like if I went over the 75kg marker that it was going to be the start of the slide of all the weight coming back on. Evidence that maybe I’m not as solid as I thought I was about this. A little too obsessed, but I feel I have to be that way. As it was I had a reasonably good Thursday and Friday and weighed in on Saturday at 74.8kg.

4 Responses to “Tough week …”

  1. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Don’t quit!! It’s time to refocus on your goals and try not to be discouraged by your knee problems. When we get a little older, it takes longer to recover from injuries but I can tell you, you will feel better. Just take it easy.

    All the best.

  2. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    I’m sorry you had a tough week, Andrew. 😦

    I wonder how it is we can mentally go from a *possible* slight scale overage to gaining it all back ? I’ve done that, too–“OMG, this is THE END!” –but as in your case, the worry was for naught. Maybe someday we’ll get better?

  3. Pippa * Jeanne Says:

    Whew Andrew, definitely a tough time for you. Hang in there! I have a feeling once you feel balanced again about ‘losing’ running (even if only temporarily) your weight will right itself as well. You’re dealing with a lot right now, so it’s natural to feel out of whack, and of course that’s going to trigger anxiety about reverting back to where you came from.

    But you’re not losing your grip, of that I’m sure. This is just a temporary recalibration. GOOD LUCK!

  4. morseyruns Says:

    I know you aren’t running now, but having a break is important- I feel like we both started out together (in the same edition of Runners World!) but I have had many breaks from running due to injury whereas you have been running with glorious consistency! Maybe you just need a break.

Leave a Reply

