Riding alone vs riding with someone else …

Another long day today, meetings most of the day. I had an appointment in the middle of the day at the travel clinic to have my shots for the trip to China. I was very happy to find that I in fact didn’t need any, they were all not due (still effective from previous ones) except for typhoid which is now available as a course of four tablets.

I headed out for a bike ride before dinner and was fortunate to meet up with another rider who lives around the corner from me. He is only a young lad (still at school) so it makes me happy that I can keep up easily. This was the second time I’ve ridden with him, and there are two big advantages to riding with someone else that I find. Firstly, the social element – it’s just nice to ride and chat. Secondly, I find that I (we) maintain a much more consistent pace, where I will tend to lag sometimes when riding alone. So, a good ride was had!

3 Responses to “Riding alone vs riding with someone else …”

  1. Pippa * Jeanne Says:

    Does my heart good, Andrew!

  2. Karen Says:

    Honestly, I’m scared to ride alone. I used to do it, but have had to many bike issues or falls and now just like the safety net of my husband by my side. He is my bike “mechanic” and makes me feel safe:) And, I probably ride faster with him than I would alone.

  3. sassydrcil Says:

    You can be a father figure to him.

Leave a Reply

