Beijing

I arrived safely in Beijing at about midnight last night. The two flights from Melbourne to Singapore and Singapore to Beijing were exactly as I like them, uneventful! I flew Singapore Airlines, and again the service experience was excellent. We were met at the airport and taken to the hotel which was nice. The first time in my life I think that one of those men holding the namecards as you come out of the arrivals hall was actually waiting for me.

As is usual for me I didn’t sleep on the plane, and only managed about 3.5 hours last night so I can start to feel myself flagging already. The agenda for the week looks pretty hectic too, hopefully the sleep situation improves as the days go on.

This shot taken out of my room on the 35th floor of the Beijing Focus Square Holiday Inn shows how smoggy the city is. The morning sun looked more like a yellow moon.

We went for a bit of a walk around the local streets and visited a few of the local shopping malls, but failed to find any bargains we couldn’t resist.

5 Responses to “Beijing”

  1. sassydrcil Says:

    Hey Andrew! Enjoy your trip! Cilla

  2. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Sounds like you will be busy. Have you ever been to China before? What has surprised you most about your trip so far? Hope you write more about your experiences there.

  3. Tish Says:

    Hope you get caught up on your sleep. The picture of the smog is amazing. My cousin’s family lived in Beijing for a few years and they also commented on the omnipresent pollution.

  4. Ewen Says:

    I’d be running on the treadmill with pollution like that! Looks worse than what India has served up for the F1 race.

  5. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Wow, that’s a *morning* picture?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!

    ?!?!?!?!?!?!?

    😯 😯 😯

    Okay, *that*’s smoggy!!! 😯

    I’m chronically sleep-disordered, so I know this oscillationg between high-adrenaline and collaps very well. πŸ˜•

Leave a Reply

