Forbidden City

Last night was Aussie night, with myself and the other Aussie traveller hosting our 80 or so conference delegates to an Aussie themed cocktail party. We decorated the bar with lots of Aussie stuff, had some good Aussie music playing and had a nice movie of Aussie images, and later some footy (the 2011 Grand Final of course) playing on a big screen. For a bit of an ice breaker we ran a “Teach you to speak Aussie” session (with audience participation) and then split the crowd up into teams and did an Aussie Trivia quiz. It all went well, although I have to say I’m pretty shattered that the trivia results were so poor, we Aussies need to market ourselves better! I also drank a little bit too much red wine afterwards and felt a little seedy this morning.

Today we had an outing to Tiananmen Square and the Forbidden City (this was the Chinese Imperial Palace, built in the 1400s). The size of the place is unbelievable, as is the number of people there. None of the photos below do either justice.

Thousands of Chinese queue for hours daily to view Chairman Mao’s body

Guarding the flagpole on Tiananmen Square

Inside the Forbidden City

4 Responses to “Forbidden City”

  1. Kate Says:

    Hey dad! Any photos of the Aussie night? I want to see how the room looked with all the things you bought! (And not at all surprised that you played the grand final…)

  2. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    Beautiful photos, Andrew! I’m enjoying my vicarious adventures! 🙂 Be safe….

  3. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Loving your photos. It must be so exciting.

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I must admit that I know very little about Australia as well, so I would have totally sucked at your quiz. 😦

    The pics, although probably not doing justice (alone due to the rather small size), give an expression of the things you see now. I know these from documentaries, but never been there. I want to see it with my own eyes.

Leave a Reply

