Singapore …. just

Well, I made it to Singapore today, but only just. If you’d asked me this time testerday I would have told you I don’t think I’m going to make it.

At about 4:30pm yesterday afternoon I got hit by a gastro bug. I’ve been so careful in China, brushing my teeth with bottled water, not eating salads or fruits I can’t peel myself, so I have no clue what did it to me. It was a horrible night, on my own in a foreign country, and one I didn’t particularly want to be sick in. All I could think about was having to reschedule flights, extend hotel stays, trying to find a doctor who could speak English, being the only one left there etc etc

The medical kit that I decided to buy from the travel doctor was the best money I’ve ever spent, the Gastrolyte and Gastrostop medications saved the day. I was very nervous about the 45 minute taxi ride and the 6 hour plane trip, but all were negotiated successfully, and am now hunkered down in my hotel room in Singapore. After the worst 24 hours I’ve spent for a while all I want to do is rest, pity about that presentation I’ve got to do on Monday that I haven’t started preparing yet!

I’ve just been to the local supermarket and have bought some bananas, Arnott’s Nice biscuits, Lucozade and bottled water. Hopefully that will not have any ill effects.

This is the view out of my hotel room, pity the last thing I feel like doing is swimming. And, that is HuanHuan the Panda checking out the local action. HuanHuan is the mascot of our global IT organisation and I’ve been made responsible for taking him to Singapore and Australia. He’s been getting around a fair bit over the last year!

4 Responses to “Singapore …. just”

  1. kathryn Says:

    Good that you are feeling better now. It’s so easy to get caught out with things like that.

  2. Carla Says:

    Andrew, so sorry to hear you are not well! I hope you feel better soon and can enjoy the rest of your trip!!!

  3. Ewen Says:

    A shame you were sick. That looks like a nice hotel!

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Oh no! I hope you’ll get past it soon and feel better!

Leave a Reply

