An early night …

Well, it’s not even 7:30pm here and I’m already in bed. But then, I think I have a bit of rest to catch up on.

Today went ok, but I discovered I have to prepare and give another presentation tomorrow. It’s prepared and ready to go.

I’ve just Skyped the loved ones, it is really good to be able to see and hear them while you’re away – can’t believe this is the first trip I’ve used it.

I’m feeling pretty well, managed a simple breakfast, skipped lunch and have just stocked up on a few basic supplies (read cheese and biscuits and bananas) for dinner.

Now I’m settling down with a good book. I was always a huge science fiction / fantasy fan as a youngster but haven’t really read much for quite a few years. On recommendation of a work colleague I bought “A Game of Thrones” by George R. R. Martin on my Kindle and am absolutely loving it. Apparently the TV show is pretty good too, hopefully by the time I’ve finished a couple of the books (there are five to date I think) the DVDs will be out – I always prefer to read the book before I see the TV show or movie.

6 Responses to “An early night …”

  1. Pippa * Jeanne Says:

    Whew, so sorry to read about the bug you caught, Andrew! I’m really glad you’re feeling better and life is looking up. Very interesting to read about such a foreign place. Hang in there!

    (I received the Game of Thrones books from a friend, but when I will get to actually reading them, I don’t know – life’s a bit busy right now. And that includes cycling, whoohoo! I’m holding out for the Christmas holidays for some reading.)

  2. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Hope you enjoy the book. I love my ereader!

    Glad you are feeling better.

  3. Em Says:

    The TV show has lots of boobs!! It did annoy be a tad that women were generally not much more than chattels, but there were a few strong female characters that redeemed it somewhat.

  4. Sara Says:

    Glad you are feeling better. I have heard great things about Game of Thrones- but I am not such a Sci Fi fan- let me know how you go with it.

  5. Dan McCredden Says:

    I have really enjoyed the first two of the books – in my view they decline a little bit after that. I totally am not into the genre (more tolkienesque than sci fi) but I thoroughly enjoyed them.

    You do have to suspend the misogyny meter a little bit from time to time in the name of enjoying the story

  6. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    One of my best friends (the one I’m writing the novel with) is very enthusiastic about the Games of Thrones tv series. Too bad I haven’s come to read or watch it, but I have it in mind! đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

