Home sweet home …

I arrived home late last night, and it is very nice to be home at last. It was a successful business trip, but a very busy and tiring time, and I really missed my family this trip – I always do, but for some reason more so this time. Last night I had trouble sleeping, I think because I was still on Singapore time. Hopefully tonight will be better. I know it is going to a very busy time at work the next few weeks, catching up and getting a few year-end tasks done, so I’ll need my rest.

I was happy to see I was roughly the same weight as when I left this morning (200g heavier in fact) – I’m sure the gastro helped with that. For the first time in six years I recorded a zero exercise week in my training journal, two of them in fact, but really don’t care too much, which is a good sign I think. I did give the bike some oil and air in the tyres today, but didn’t get out for a ride, hope I remember how 🙂

The Bose QC15 headphones were wonderful on the flight yesterday, they really made it much more pleasant, both when using the airplane entertainment system and my iPod and iPad. I watched the “Captain America – The First Avenger” movie (he was one of my favourite comic book heroes as a kid) and it was really quite good. I know I’ve said this before, but Singapore Airlines are a great airline too, my favourite I think – the service is very good.

6 Responses to “Home sweet home …”

  1. Sharon Says:

    Welcome back 🙂 Glad you liked the Bose headphones. I use them around at home too, drowns out the children (kidding!)

    I am in awe of your one exercise free week in six years.

  2. kathryn Says:

    Welcome home. My dream is to fly a good airline one day (ie not Jetstar)! The headphones sound awesome. I’d be tempted to buy some but often need to hear outside noise – at work, on pt … and when running (if I ever go),

  3. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    I’m sure you’re glad to be back home with your family. My husband always traveled a great deal for work and he enjoyed it but as he got older he found it more difficult. But it must have been a bit of a respite being alone after the four girls endless chatter!

    I know you’ll get back to the exercise now you are home.

  4. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    I’m glad you made it home safely, Andrew, and none the worse for wear.

    I’ve read in several places that we should occasionally take a total exercise hiatus to reset metabolism and other … stuff, but it just doesn’t feel right, does it?

  5. Ewen Says:

    One never forgets how to ride a bike Andrew .)

  6. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Happy you arrived at home safely! I totally agree that good headphones make such a difference when travelling, and listening to music or watching a movie is the best thing to make the time fly by and arrive without being totally exhausted, because they protect you from all the hustle and chatter arround. 🙂

    Have fun with your bike – I’m sure it has missed you, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

