Rain …

Rain pretty much all day in Melbourne today, quite heavy at times too, our back yard is under water at the moment.

We braved the rain to do some shopping this morning, starting with a visit to Uncle Dan’s to buy some dark beer and some red wine (vital supplies first, right?). Then to our favourite supermarket, Lamanna on Essendon Fields, who were celebrating their first birthday so the joint was hopping. Lots of food to sample which is always nice too.

The rain seemed like as good an excuse as any to stay inside and veg out a bit, so I spent a bit of time reading “A Clash of Kings” (Book 2 of the Songs of Fire and Ice series, which I am still enjoying). I’m reading it on my new Kindle, yes a new one. We decided to buy a Kindle for my mum, so as she will need the 3G wireless (as they don’t have internet) I decided to buy myself one of the new, cheaper ones. Less features – no 3G (don’t really need it for me as we have wireless), less capacity (am I ever going to need to store 1,400 books anyway), no audio (I’ve got an iPod and an iPad) – but the smaller and lighter form factor more than make up for this. I love my new Kindle even more than the old one, hope mum likes hers!

I did venture out on the bike in the afternoon between showers (I thought) but the rain started not long after I started. It was just light though, so I stayed out for about an hour.

I even cooked tea tonight – I do that too rarely – making a nice bolognaise sauce to have with some gnocchi we bought this morning. While I cooked tea I listened to my current favourite music, my new favourite recording of my favourite song from my favourite band. It is a pre-album recording, live from Wembley in 1974 of Shine On You Crazy Diamond from Pink Floyd. It is listed as Parts 1-6, but I think it seems more like 2-9, with some parts a little shorter than the later album version. It is from the live album that comes as a part of the recently released “Discovery Edition” of the Wish You Were Here album, which also includes a great live version of the song Wish You Were Here featuring Stephane Grapelli on violin. It is awesome – if you are a Floyd fan, or even if you’re not, it is worth checking out.

Oh, by the way, the week without exercise didn’t seem to hurt me too much. Just a small, 100g, gain for the week.

3 Responses to “Rain …”

  1. Ewen Says:

    I’m waiting for the Kindle Fire. They’re about $200 in the States. Colour screen and wi-fi.

  2. Bill Says:

    Great post. I’ll have to catch up one day when I’m in Melbourne. I’m up to book 5 of game of thrones, bought a Sony e-reader, really enjoying my Pink Floyd a the moment. Though I’m not the fan you are. I’ll have to check out the album. And I love my dark beers. Just had dinner with the boy at a Belgian beer cafe. Really good!

  3. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I want to check that out!

Leave a Reply

