Disappearing over the horizon …

That’s what happened to Chris last night. I went for my first run since early October with my son. He’s been running now for a couple of months. I figured I could keep up easily, how wrong I was. I managed to stay in touch for the first kilometre or so, but then quickly realised that my running fitness wasn’t worth a sack of shit, and my chest felt like it was going to explode. I waved him on and he quickly disappeared. My run turned into a bit of a run/walk and after a few kilometres it slowed down more as I started to get a bit of a twinge in my quad. By the time I got home, Chris was already showered and changed. My 6km loop ended up being close to 7 min/km with all the walking. Now, I am determined to get in some sneaky training, get back in shape and surprise him next time.

At weigh-in this morning, a small gain, up to 74.7 kg, perilously close to the top end of my target range.

A hot and windy ride this afternoon of just over an hour, feeling a little sore after the run yesterday, so took it fairly slowly. At least I beat the rain and thunderstorms home.

4 Responses to “Disappearing over the horizon …”

  1. Ewen Says:

    A loss like that is good motivation!

  2. AndrewENZ Says:

    I like the phrasing: “sack ofshit”!

  3. sassydrcil Says:

    Hey, nothing wrong with 7 min kms! 🙂
    You did not do too badly after the 2 month break.
    Not used to you swearing on your blog!! 😀

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Next time, go for a run with me, that will boost your self-esteem! 😛

Leave a Reply

