Scary number …

I received my rider’s kit for GOOC 2012 yesterday. Good news … the jersey fits, bad news was there was a really scary number on it. 145. That’s how far it is, I’ve done it three times before, but this time it seems scarier … maybe because I’ve been so slack recently with the exercise. I had better get my act together soon.

I was a further 200g up at weekly weigh-in this morning, at 74.8kg, getting even closer to the upper end of my target range. Only 200g between me and failure on another goal for this year.

10 Responses to “Scary number …”

  1. morseyruns Says:

    Andrew, that is NOT THE WAY TO THINK ABOUT IT. You have shown that you can maintain your weight for an extremely long time- I follow you closely because I am the ultimate yo-yo and I watch your steady as she goes approach and I am envious of your dedication. Maintaining your weight ALL YEAR then slightly going up at the end is hardly a failure.

    • Andrew(AJH) Says:

      Sara, you don’t know how much I appreciate that comment, thank you so much! It’s been six years now since I snuck under 75kg and I know it’s silly to feel like it is the beginning of the end if I sneak back over, but that’s how it is for me.

      • Twocatz Says:

        I hardly think being 75kgs is a failure. Just look back to where you have come from. We both know a couple of weeks of paying a little more attention to the diet or a little more exercise will have you back in your comfort zone.

        I just wished I could get to 75kgs, so you are way in front of my weight goal for this year, and last and probably 2012 as well lol

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Please, don’t think in terms of failures! Keeping the weight off is probably so much harder than losing it in the first place, because it’s a long-term thing, and you’re doing so well! And then think of all the work stress and travels of lately, and all the sports-related progress you’ve made in the past years. Just be proud of yourself, and don’t forget we’re human and therefore not made for perfection by nature. 🙂

  3. Twocatz Says:

    Mine came too. At least you have been riding your bike, mine has been gathering dust and being totally ignored. I am just going to wing it and hope that my marathon training will see me though. Going up some of those will will certainly test the legs out

  4. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    I know you have been an inspiration to many and I’d like to say not to give up and you can do it!

  5. sassydrcil Says:

    I was going to say, you could celebrate most of the year being within target range.
    You know what to do.
    The christmas period, all bets are off.

  6. Em Says:

    Don’t sweat the tiny weight creep, it’s just that time of year isn’t it and with a 145km bike ride to train for I am sure it will take care of itself.

    Thus far I have proven to gutless to enter that particular bike ride!

  7. Shauna Says:

    i agree with your comrades above… speaking as an *actual* maintenance failure here, i reckon you’re doing ace. how cool does that bib look btw? 🙂

Leave a Reply

