Enrolled ..

The first task today was a shopping trip into the city. I bought myself two lens filters for my camera (a wideband circular polarizer filter and a variable – ND2 to ND400 – neutral density filter). Compared to a lot of the equipment I looked at, these were reasonably cheap accessories and should widen the capabilities of my two lenses.

Adrienne and had lunch at Poynton’s. For those of you not familiar with this side of Melbourne, Poynton’s is a plant nursery, with a cafe, on the banks of the Maribyrnong River. It is a lovely little part of Melbourne and very popular with walkers, runners and cyclists.

The Maribyrnong River is a beautiful spot. Pity about the power lines!

I enrolled in Febfast today. Febfast is an initiative where people sign up (making a small donation) and pledge to abstain from alcohol for the month of February. The proceeds benefit a number of different charities that provide programs focused on youth affected by drugs and alcohol.

I also enrolled in a Basic Digital SLR Photography course at CAE. It will run over two Saturdays, starting at the end of this month.

We are enjoying a nice crop of tomatoes at the moment, four different varieties – there really is nothing like home grown tomatoes, they smell and taste so different (so much better) than shop bought ones.

4 Responses to “Enrolled ..”

  1. Carla Says:

    I love home-grown tomatoes!! It’s amazing to see all your warm pictures when it is so absolutely bone-jarringly cold here right now. The tomatoes we get during the winter here are for the most part barely edible. Today I found these tiny little tomatoes that they sell still on the vine. They are delish but they cost a small fortune!!!

  2. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    I love your photos and agree with Carla. I visited Montreal today and it was -27C in the morning, heating up to a blistering – 19C this afternoon. – Maureen

  3. Sara Says:

    Good luck with Feb Fast! The Maribynong is also very popular with paddlers- Vic and I did some of our training there and once saw a fox swimming across the river in broad daylight. Beautiful spot.

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Oh, I’d love to dig more into the wonderful world of photography! I hope I’ll get a DSLR for my graduation, and then I’ll totally be in! 😀 Going without alcohol for an entire month sounds tricky, because alcohol is such a social drug, but very worthy at the same time.

Leave a Reply

