The real story …

Very interesting to hear the cyclists story coming out today in the “cyclist vs Shane Warne” story that has been in the media here the last couple of days. The cyclists version of events is published on the very respectable Cycling Tips blog, and I’ve no reason to doubt the truth in it. If it is to be believed (and I do) it seems that the version being touted by Warne, and sensationalised by the tabloid media is a load of absolute twaddle. Here’s hoping that the witnesses come forward, the tabloid’s retract the crap they wrote and Shane Warne gets prosecuted for “hit and run”. The unfortunate thing about this is the fact that it really brings out the “cyclist hating motorists” (you just have to read some of the comments on various websites today and on Twitter), and highlights that it really probably is more dangerous out there than you think. I am a responsible cyclist (and driver), but I know there are a few cyclists out there who set a bad example, but that is really no reason for the hateful comments I’ve seen today. Really, all we want is some mutual respect and care for each other, and to be safe whilst riding on the roads. Not too much to ask, surely ?

Anyway, not much more to report from me. The last couple of nights I have ventured out on my mountain bike again. I really am enjoying it, riding through the national park, communing with nature! It truly is very relaxing. I haven’t taken the road bike out since Amy’s Ride I realised tonight as I updated my training journal!

A moment of rest and contemplation (Woodlands Hill, tonight from iPhone)

6 Responses to “The real story …”

  1. Carla Says:

    I hope you always stay safe while riding your bike!!!

    That picture is lovely. I can almost feel the warmth over here in the dead of winter!

  2. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    I’m going to have to look up that story of the cyclist. I find that here in Canada, many people are against cyclists!!!

  3. Scarlett Says:

    I like seeing photos of you resting and being at peace. Great to see 🙂

  4. Em Says:

    Sadly the official result is “police have spoken to both parties and advised that civil action be pursued”

    What a piss weak result hey, Shane Warne has effectively been let off!

    A woman I work with started up with the whole “you should be registered thing” and I said no worries, I’ll register my bike, I’ll also start owing the whole lane when I cycle on the road too!

  5. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Good to hear you’re cycling again! Love the picture. 🙂

  6. Ewen Says:

    That was a big story. I’m a responsible cyclist too (even stop at red lights when there’s not a car in sight!), but there are a small percentage of dickhead cyclists that get dickhead car drivers stirred up.

Leave a Reply

