Black wallaby …

A very peaceful 4km walk around Woodlands Park tonight. It was looking like it was going to be a blow-out photograph wise until I came across this little black wallaby who actually let me approach him a bit through the grass and take his photo. I wonder who took the chunk out of his ear?

9 Responses to “Black wallaby …”

  1. Tish Says:

    Did you get a new camera for Christmas? What great photos you’re getting. Poor thing with the chunk out of his ear. Oh, my brother and son are super bird watchers, I forwarded your eagle pix to them for their input. I’ll let you know.

    • ajh Says:

      No, I’ve had the camera for about 6 months or more I think, but just really starting to use it more. I’ve another one for the ornithologists in your family tonight 🙂

  2. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    What is the difference between a wallaby and a kangaroo? They certainly look similar to me.Nice photos.

    • ajh Says:

      Maureen, essentially wallabies are just smaller. They only get to about 3 feet in height. The larger kangaroos can get up to 7-8 feet tall when they raise themselves up on their hind legs.

  3. Cammy@TippyToeDiet Says:

    What an awesome photo–heck, an awesome *moment*.

  4. Ewen Says:

    Looks like a .303. Yes, unusual. Have probably only seen a dozen or so over 30 years of running.

  5. Karen Says:

    I may just get to see these guys in person! Our niece (and her husband) are living down there for 3 years while she works on her PhD. If we are ever going to make the trip, why not when we have family there:) My husband wants to go to New Zealand too.

Leave a Reply

