Happy Australia Day!

I hope all of my fellow Australians had as wonderful an Australia Day holiday as I did today, it’s been one of the best days I’ve had in a long time.

I started it off with a nice bike ride with Herb, riding from his place in Essendon, down Merri Creek Trail, around the Capital City Trail, along the Yarra Path and back up the Maribyrnong River path. It was a stunningly beautiful morning, lots of people out walking, running and riding. Herb and I stopped off at The Boathouse on the Maribyrnong where we met our lovely wives for an extended long coffee break, then continued the ride back to Herb’s place. It ended up being a ride of just over 42km.

Then Adrienne and I went out for lunch at Degani Cafe where I had their bacon and egg pizza. It is one of the nicest pizzas I’ve had, thin crispy crust, wood-fired – yum. Then we went to the movies and saw “A Few Best Men”. It wasn’t our first choice of movie, but was the only one that was staring at about the right time that we wanted to see. It was fun, wouldn’t rave about it, but it had Olivia Newton-John in it, who I’ve had a bit of a crush on since I was about 15, so that has to be good, right?

Then home to some delicious lamb fillets on the barbeque, followed by a beautiful walk around the national park with Adrienne (but not the dog tonight because we wanted to go into the nature reserve part of the park, where she isn’t allowed). Of course I took the camera, and snagged a couple of nice bird shots, and there’s also the obilgatory roo shot (just for Kath).

Red-browed Firetail family, 2012_01_26
A beautiful little family of Red-browed firetails

Red Wattlebird, 2012_01_26

A Red Wattlebird

Kangaroos 2012_01_26

Two roos amongst the trees

2 Responses to “Happy Australia Day!”

  1. Ewen Says:

    Love the narrow depth of field in those telephoto shots. Can’t beat a good SLR. Happy belated Australia Day! You’ve found a good course for a marathon 🙂

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    You made a roo pic just for me?! 😀 Thank you so much! I sooo much love the roos! 😀 This brings tears to my eyes. (I’m very emotional currently, I’ll write more about that on my blog soon, but it’s nothing serious with me or so.)

    Happy (belated …) Australia Day to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

