Flickr

Another very hot day in Melbourne today, this heat is energy-sapping. Both the kids are attending The Big Day Out today (an outside rock concert), so consequently I’m playing taxi, and we’re just at home hoping they’re okay in the heat.

Back slightly worse today.

I ventured out for a walk late afternoon and managed to get a few more nice photos. A little Willy Wagtail kept me amused for a good 15 minutes flitting around a few trees. He was hard to photograph but eventually I got a couple of nice shots. Then I walked over towards a spot closer to the airport and took a few shots of some slightly larger flying objects.

Willie Wagtail, 2012-01-29 (_MG_1817)

Willie Wagtail

Qantas Boeing 737-838 VH-VYB, 2012-01-29 (_MG_1837)

Qantas Boeing 737-838

I’ve signed up with Flickr for online display and storage of my photographs and really like it. You might have noticed that the photos in this blog the last few days have been embedded from Flickr which is easier to do than native WordPress and easily provides access to original versions etc. It is also great for sorting and cataloging your photos, allows you to geo-locate them too. There’s also a great iPad app that allows you to easily sync your collections with your iPad photo library.

But perhaps the thing I like best is such easy access to so many other people’s photos and expertise. There are thousands of groups on Flickr (like forums) where folks share photos and discuss their common topic. I’ve joined a number of groups specific to my camera model and have learned heaps and had a few questions answered. I’ve joined a group on Australian Birds and a few of the other members have helped me identify a couple of birds in my photos. I’ve also joined a couple of Melbourne specific groups which is interesting too. You can also just search through photos by keyword, location etc., so I found it fun to search for my local area and look at some of the photos others have taken around here.

Flickr is awesome!

5 Responses to “Flickr”

  1. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    I Love your photos especially the ones of birds. They are all so new to me and I love birds. Flickr seems to be a great site and I think it is good you can join groups, etc. – Maureen

  2. Andy Says:

    Maybe a good sports massage will fix your back???

  3. Carla Says:

    Hope your back feels better soon!

    When I see a new post of yours in my reader I find myself hoping to see more pics of Australian wildlife. You seem to have a natural talent for photography.

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I have a bubble bath treatment when my back hurts. Probably that might help you as well? 🙂

    I love the bird picture. You camera makes really great pics, also the airplane looks so sharp and detailed.

    Major DSLR drooling over here. 😉

  5. Ewen Says:

    Willie Wagtails are great birds. That’s a good photo. I’ll remember the Flickr tip when I get back into photography – probably after I retire!

Leave a Reply

