January

It is hard to believe the first month of 2012 has gone already. For me it has been a very mixed month, but definitely a more “down” than “up” month.

Down

  • I really haven’t felt well all month. The infection for the first part of the month, the bad back at the end, some saddle sores and a general feeling of “not being 100%” for most of the time. First time for many years I have had a month like that.
  • Lots of days where the weather was simply too hot to do very much. I prefer the cooler months.
  • Work was frantic, full of preparing staff performance reviews (which I loathe doing) and some big projects starting up.
  • The preceding three reasons meant it was a very low exercise month. A very empty training journal, for me, leads to an even worse state of mind.

Up

  • Riding Amy’s Ride with Em was fun, albeit disgustingly hot.
  • Adrienne is planning some holidays which gives us something to look forward to!
  • I have really “discovered” Woodlands HIstoric Park, a local nature reserve, which is only a couple of kilometers from home. I can’t believe how little time we’ve spent there in the 20+ years we’ve lived in the area. I think I could wander around there quite easily for a couple of hours every day without getting bored.
  • I’m loving learning to use my DSLR and am very happy with some of the shots I’ve got so far.
  • Bird watching has always been something that Adrienne has been more interested in than me, but with the camera I’m loving the challenge of photographing them, and really starting to appreciate what wonderful little creatures they are. I’m even starting to recognize many of them from their bird calls.
  • Also loving the kangaroos, they have their own little personalities too, and can also be challenging to photograph.
  • Happy to have been maintaining my weight despite the drop in training.

After saying it was a more “down” than “up” month I just realized I had more “up” bullet points than “down” ones. Anyway, it still feels like a “down” month. Roll on February!

Cumberland Ruins, 2012-02-02 (_MG_1973)

Cumberland Ruins looking towards Melbourne Airport at sunset tonight.

5 Responses to “January”

  1. Bill James-Wallace Says:

    11 months to … 🙂

    Great photos Andrew. I must take the time myself to stop and smell the roses (and take some photos) when I’m out!

    Looking forward to an “up” February too … 🙂

  2. Em Says:

    More ups for sure, glad our ride was an up 🙂

  3. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Sorry you haven’t been feeling well. I highly recommend retirement!!! But if it isn’t possible, those walks, rides, and photo-taking opportunities should relieve any stress related to work. Seems to me you have a good balance there. – Maureen

  4. Scarlett Says:

    *supportive hugs* Without these sorts of months we wouldn’t have the awesome ones. 🙂

  5. Geoff Says:

    Sorry you’ve had a bad month. Losing weight despite the complications is admirable. All the best for February

Leave a Reply

