Shopping day …

Saturday in our house is usually at least partially taken up with shopping, and today was no different. Adrienne and I did our usual food shopping at LaManna at Essendon Fields (the best supermarket this side of town, who I’d much rather support than Coles and Woolworths).

Then a trip into the city for me to do a bit of exploration at the Elizabeth St camera cluster (for non-Melbournians there are four camera shops close together in Elizabeth St). I’m contemplating the purchase of a macro lens, or possibly a longer telephoto zoom lens for the DSLR. So, after talking to staff in all four stores, and after a lot of research over the last couple of weeks, I think I know what I’d like, now all I need to do is work out what I can afford (and what I want to carry around, those long telephoto zooms are big and heavy).

Then over to Highpoint for Adrienne who is looking for a new dinner set (crockery), which was unsuccessful. Can anyone suggest any good stores that have a good range of “everyday” dinner sets?

I did purchase an interesting looking little book at the ABC shop. It’s called “The Casual Cyclist’s Guide – Melbourne – Routes, Rides, Rants and Raves about the City and the Bike”. I’ll post a review once I’ve read it.

Late afternoon I headed over to Woodlands for another photo session. This time I was hunting an Airbus A380 rather than the smaller winged creatures or kangaroos. Yes, I’m checking airport schedules now, and there’s even a website that shows you the inbound and outbound runways being used so you can head to the right place. I managed to get a couple of good shots of the giant plane, and also a couple of birds on the walk out. Of course a nice 4 or 5 km walk as well.

The combination of the evening walks and Febfast seems to be working weight-wise, I was 1.3kg down from last week, at 73.2kg at weekly weigh-in this morning.

Qantas Airbus A380-800 VH-OQK Wheels up 2012-02-04  (_MG_2072)

Qantas Airbus A380-800 VHS-OQK pulls up it’s wheels on the way to Singapore

Juvenile Willie Wagtail, 2012-02-04 (_MG_2114)

Little Willie Wagtail

Australian Magpie 2012-02-04 (_MG_2106)

Australian Magpie

4 Responses to “Shopping day …”

  1. Tish Says:

    Our Saturday has just begun. No shopping, but your rediscovery of your local park has inspired me to return to Huntley Meadows, a wonderful park and wildlife sanctuary near us.

  2. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Congrats on the weight loss. It just makes life seem easier!

    Keep the photos coming. They are beautiful!

  3. Andy Says:

    Could you see the cracks in the wings of the plane????

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Aww … the birds. 🙂

Leave a Reply

