HDR

This is my first attempt at HDR imaging. HDR is “high dynamic range”. Basically you take a number of different shots of the same scene with different exposures (in the case below there were three images of this gum tree at Gellibrand Hill, one under-exposed, one exposed correctly and one over-exposed) then these are combined in software to produce a high contrast, somewhat surreal, image. Obviously when taking the pictures a tripod is essential, as is a non-moving scene, so that the images are the same except for the exposure values. The software I used is called Photomatix Essentials, a $38 web download. Lots of fun to be had here I think!

Gellibrand gum tree, 2011-12-22 (_MG_1170/1/2) HDR
Edit: I reprocessed the Gellibrand gum tree photo and have managed to get rid of the blotchy sky, I think it looks better now.

4 Responses to “HDR”

  1. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Very cool, Andrew! Looks almost otherwordly! 🙂

  2. Pippa * Jeanne Says:

    I finally (and hopefully) fixed my subscription to your blog, Andrew, as I wasn’t getting emailed updates and had to come see what’s going on!

    I just KNOW I’m going to LOVE seeing your adventures into photography. I haven’t tried the HDR lark yet, but it looks like you sure are having fun!

    Love the lighting on the tree.

  3. Ewen Says:

    Interesting. I hadn’t heard of that. There’s going to be movement with shots of vegetation if there’s any wind. I like the look — not that unnatural, except for the weird looking skies.

    • ajh Says:

      Ewen, the software does try and adjust for the movement, but you get a better result when there isn’t that movement. You can make it look “unnatural” if you want to, there is some incredible work out on Flickr from others.

Leave a Reply

