Weekend wrap …

Saturday morning is always weekly weigh-in for me, and again despite only one bike ride in the week previous and no running, I recorded another loss, down 700g from last week to 72.5kg. Obviously, the lack of alcohol and pretty good eating, and the walking is enough. Speaking of Febfast, I’m finding it pretty easy actually, I’ve had a bit of a hankering for a nice glass of shiraz a couple of nights, but that’s all.

Chris, Kate and I went into the city Saturday morning to do a bit of shopping and I shouted myself a macro lens for the camera, so that sort of rounds out my camera gear quite well I think. After lunch, Adrienne and I drove down to Frankston to see Adrienne’s sister who is recovering from an operation she had earlier in the week. It’s a long drive for us from our place to Frankston, but definitely made better by the new freeways. One thing that always strikes me about Eastlink is how much more effort they’ve gone to to “beautify” the freeway compared to the Tullamarine Freeway – it is much, much nicer.

Today has been a lovely day. I got up nice and early (5:30am) and went out for a walk to get some “sunrise” pictures. I had two specific shots in mind (from Gellibrand Hill), one of the Cumberland Ruins at sunrise and one of the city skyline. I took a few different shots but the following two shots are my favourites.

City Skyline at sunrise from Gellibrand Hill 2012-02-12 (_MG_2354_5_6) HDR

Melbourne city skyline from Gellibrand Hill at sunrise

Cumberland Ruins at sunrise 2012-02-12 (_MG_2357_8_ 9) HDR

Cumberland Ruins at sunrise

After returning home for breakfast, Adrienne and I went out for another walk. We walked for about two hours. We explored a part of the park I hadn’t walked in and I was happy to find one of the geographical features of the park that I had seen in other people’s photos, but hadn’t seen myself. Behold the “Balancing Boulder”.

Balancing Boulder 2012-02-12 (_MG_2391_2_3) HDR

Balancing Boulder

We were walking along the track towards the homestead and there was a nice flowering gum, so I decided to try out the macro lens on the flowers. It was quite windy and I was finding it quite difficult. Macro photography is hard isn’t it! Then Adrienne spotted a grasshopper that was munching away on a butterfly. Who knew grasshoppers ate butterflies? I certainly didn’t until today!

Grasshopper eating butterfly 2012-02-12 (_MG_2403)

Grasshopper having a butterfly for lunch!

The birds were a little elusive today, lots around but most were staying away from my camera. We did manage to get a couple of good shots of the beautiful red-browed firetails, which are quickly becoming my favourite little bird.

Red-browed Firetail 2012-02-12 (_MG_2380)

Red-browed firetail

I managed to get out on the bike for an hour late afternoon, and it felt good. But I really need to start some serious training – that Great Ocean Road ride is approaching fast.

6 Responses to “Weekend wrap …”

  1. Pippa * Jeanne Says:

    Loving your photos – especially the skyline and the ruins are beautiful!

    Grasshoppers eating butterflies? Nope. Praying mantises? OH YES!

    And the DOF with the little firetail is beautiful – what an exquisite bird!

    Happy week for you, Andrew!

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    I think that eating has the greatest impact on maintaining a healthy weight. But I may be wrong and underestimate the impact of exercise. 😉

    I always love the photos you take, Andrew! All those wonderful animals … And, well, they eat each other, but that’s nature. 😕

  3. Tish Says:

    Gorgeous pix. I like the skyline and the fire tail best. Good for you on your WI. Nice to see that there’s an alternate way to lose, besides riding or running in the height of summer.

  4. AndrewENZ Says:

    You are getting really good with the photos!

  5. Ewen Says:

    Great shot of the city. Also the bird – don’t know if I’ve seen one of those.

  6. Geoff Says:

    Hi Andrew – just wanted to let you know that I got the “No Need for Speed” book out of the library after seeing your recommendation. I’ll let you know how I go with it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

