Slacker …

Wow, more than a week between posts here, what a slacker I’ve become. Not just in blogging either, I really haven’t been exercising at all either, except for a walk with Adrienne, and sometimes the dog (but she slows us down, so we don’t always take her).

The month of February, and Febfast, has come and gone. I did have my first glass of red for over two months last night, a beautiful Heathcote Shiraz, really enjoyed it too. I found Febfast pretty easy to be truthful, no real hankerings for alcohol – there were a few nights where I thought that a glass of wine would be nice, but really that was it. The weight continues to drop, with over a kilo loss this last week, down to 70.9kg at weigh-in yesterday. Maybe I need to eat more? The lowest amount of exercise I’ve ever done in a month in the history of my training journal.

Yesterday was day two of my photography course. I really enjoyed it, learnt a little bit too. Interesting to talk to a lot of the other students too – I think that’s always the way when you do courses, sometimes you learn as much from the other participants. I did the same thing yesterday as I did the first week, went in early and wandered around the city a bit taking a few photos. I ended up with two photos I’m really happy with, which I will show below. The first is of the columns at the Melbourne GPO, and is the first time I’ve attempted to merge more than three exposures in a HDR merge (this one has six). It’s just a pity that the lights were out in two of the archways and someone had left some old bread crates down the far end of the walkway, but hey, you gotta photograph what you see right? The second photograph was also a first for me, because it was the first time I’ve tried to combine a multi-exposure HDR merge with a stitched panorama. This shot of Hosier Lane is a two-frame panorama with each frame having three merged exposures. I love the way it came out, I think it is my favourite photo of mine to date. It looks great on my desktop, and I was planning to use it on my desktop at work too, then I noticed the words “Mother F*#$er” on one of the walls. I really don’t want to Photoshop it out, maybe just need to strategically place a desktop icon?

Melbourne GPO Columns 2012-03-03 (_MG_3871_2_3_4_5_6)
Melbourne Old GPO Building

Hosier Lane Panorama 2012-03-03 (_MG_3904_5_6_7_8_9)
Hosier Lane

Today was my mum’s 78th birthday which we celebrated at my brother’s place, then after getting home we mowed the lawns and did some gardening, then took the dog for a walk. The 3 hour bike ride did not happen. I think GOOC is going to really hurt.

7 Responses to “Slacker …”

  1. Bill Says:

    Great photos Andrew. Love looking through these. And 70.9 without training??? You bugger! šŸ™‚

  2. sassydrcil Says:

    the drop in weight could be due to a. decreased appetite and b. drop off in muscle mass.

  3. Carla Says:

    Your photos are absolutely lovely!

    Sometimes it’s good to be lazy I think. I like to be lazy from time to time myself!!! As long as bad habits don’t set in it’s fine, right! And you are very interested in photography now so it’s not like you’re doing nothing…

  4. Ewen Says:

    Nice going with the weight loss and the photography. Great image of Hosier Lane.

  5. Em Says:

    I know I already commented on Facebook but I’ll say it again, I adore that photo of Hosier Lane. The perspective is great and I especially love the deep deep grey sky with the blue glass building in stark contract up there is the distance, well done, tis a great shot.

  6. Em Says:

    Oh, and I love the lighting on the GPO shot, it almost looks like an Egyptian temple

  7. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Oh, I can relate! When things are busy, I often feel too tired for blogging or moving. (You know I don’t exercise that much anyway, but I go for walks every day.)

    I think you continuous weight drop shows that it’s really not all about the exercise, so please don’t beat yourself up about it. I have the impression you exercised so much for weight management reasons mainly, and if that isn’t necessary anymore, you may just engage in the bit of exercise you really enjoy and don’t be angry with yourself about the rest you didn’t do anymore. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

