Tawny Frogmouth

Ever since I was a child I have loved the Tawny Frogmouth. I can remember when I was a child collecting the “Birds of Australia” cards that came in Liptons tea (showing my age badly here), and the Tawny Frogmouth was my favourite card in the set!

Tonight, following some excellent email instructions from David, Kate and I ventured over to Woodlands and found these two little darlings. They are so well camouflaged and still that without David telling me where they were, we would never have seen them. Aren’t they gorgeous? And wonderful photography subjects, they just sit there, still as anything, and let you snap away.

Tawny Frogmouth 2012-03-19 (_MG_4949)

We also managed to spot a Scarlet Robin (again based on David’s instructions), but he was too quick for my camera, so you’ll have to pop over to David’s blog to see a photo of him.

5 Responses to “Tawny Frogmouth”

  1. Shauna Reid (@shauna) Says:

    Beautiful!!! I always loved those little guys. Gorgeous pics!

  2. David Jenkins Says:

    G,day,

    Glad you found them. A treat to see both of them together. I wonder if it is not a parent and a juvenile? She had two healthy looking chicks earlier in the season.
    Super lighting.

    DJ

  3. Ewen Says:

    They’re certainly well disguised. You’d miss them if you didn’t know they were there. David has some stunning photos on his blog.

  4. Em Says:

    I love Tawny’s too, I have a 6th sense when it comes to that bird, there are a couple that hang around the street light at the front of my house at night, they just swoop in lazily and pick off moths and they make not a sound as they fly.

  5. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Aww, they’re cute! 😀

Leave a Reply

