Happy 80th Dad …

I took advantage of the new early morning daylight this morning and headed out a bit after six for a nice long walk. I headed into Woodlands at the Swain St entrance and walked down to the Back Paddock. Despite the forecast for early rain, it was a beautiful morning, and beautiful light for some photos once the sun was up. The birds were enjoying the early morning too and there was so much activity in some areas with Grey Fantails, Red-browed Firetails and Superb Fairy-wrens darting all around so much it was impossible to get a decent shot, but beautiful to watch all the same. On the walk out I got a nice shot of a White-plumed Honeyeater, a shot of some Rainbow Lorikeets (which I’ve seen many times but never photographed), a nice shot of a noisy Kookaburra and some Red-rumped Parrots that were feeding on the stone roadway of Swain St.

After returning to the car I drove down to the Providence Rd entrance and decided I’d walk down to the dam. It was quieter down here and after a quick visit to the dam, where the only life was a couple of Pacific Black Ducks, I started the walk back to the car. As I was walking back along the Back Paddock boundary fence track, I noticed a red flash as two birds flew across in front of me. It was a pair of Scarlet Robins. I had to jump a fence, and quietly tried to follow them through the scrub. After leading me through the scrub, they decided to settle down for a bit, and I got a series of lovely shots of these beautiful birds. I’m only going to include one photo in this blog post, my favourite of the Scarlet Robins, and possibly my favourite of all the bird photos I’ve taken. I think it is such a beautiful little bird that it deserves to stand here alone. The previously mentioned birds, and about six more of the Scarlet Robins are on my Flickr feed (click the photo to go there if you wish).

Scarlet Robin 2012-04-01 (_MG_5514)

Tomorrow is my dad’s 80th birthday and we celebrated that today with a family lunch at Monteleone’s restaurant which is at the Donnybrook Cheese Farm. Adrienne had made a lovely birthday cake for dad, with a lot of little elements to represent many of the milestones of his life. It was an emotional day, but in a good way. 80 years is a decent age, and certainly a time to recognise all that dad (and mum) have done for us in our lives.

After visitors had gone I mowed the lawns, and then Kate and I (and our cameras) went out for another walk at Woodlands. A long, but wonderful day, now time to settle down with a glass of wine and watch Modern Family I reckon.

7 Responses to “Happy 80th Dad …”

  1. Ewen Says:

    Now that’s a good shot! 80s a good milestone, but I’ve been told it’s “the new 70”.

  2. Carla Says:

    Wow – what a beautiful bird!!!

  3. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Andrew, that robin is lovely. What a great photo! I love all your bird photos since I don’t think we have any of those species here in Canada.

    Happy birthday to your Dad. My mother-in-law turned 91 yesterday.

  4. Tish Says:

    Happy birthday to your day! Loving your birding stories and pix. It’s nice that you and your Kate are bonding over this.

  5. Tish Says:

    That’s Dad, not day!

  6. David Jenkins Says:

    Gerat work on the Scarlet. I really hope that there are two.
    Once the light is good, it think it improves the chances of getting a good shot.

    This is such a lovely bird in his rich red and velvet black.

    Best wishes to Dad for a great achievement.

  7. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Happy belated birthday to your dad! I hope you all had a lovely time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

