Happy Easter …

Happy Easter to all my blog readers out there! I hope you are all having a restful Easter with your friends and families – I certainly am!

It’s been a weekend of “photography heavy” days for me, so I hope you’d like to see some photos!

The first is one I actually took on Friday, but have spent a little bit of time in processing as there was a bit of “chromatic aberration” on the biggest tree caused by the sunlight and my kit lens. This was a bit fiddly to remove in Photoshop, but worth it because I really like this image.

Somerton Road landscape 2012-04-06 (_MG_5895-900)
Somerton Road “needle grass” landscape

Yesterday morning I decided to get up early and hike up to Gellibrand Hill to try and get a shot of the full moon setting. I was hoping for a shot of the moon dropping below the horizon, but unfortunately it went behind cloud right near the horizon, however I was happy with the shot below, and as soon as I took that I I turned right around and was right into shooting some sunrise shots, my favourite of which is also below. It was a beautiful morning on Gellibrand Hill!

Full moon setting over Gellibrand Hill 2012-04-07 (_MG_6140_1_2)
Full moon setting on Gellibrand Hill

Sunrise on Gellibrand HIll 2012-04-07 (_MG_6167_8_9)
Sunrise over Gellibrand Hill

After I finished with the sunrise I headed down to a different part of the park and found this little darling sunning herself in the morning sun. Really just a little ball of fluff with a blue tail, isn’t she?

Superb Fairy-wren 2012-04-07 (_MG_6213)

Female Superb Fairy-wren

The morning was spent out shopping and lunch with the family and in the afternoon I headed out on the mountain bike (with camera) for a ride. Last night we had dinner with some old friends at the The Old England Hotel which was lovely.

Today we visited the Royal Park Wetlands (or to give it it’s proper aboriginal name “Trin Warren Tam-Boore” or “Bellbird Waterhole”). It is hidden at the back of Royal Park, just behind the yellow “Cheesestick” sculpture and yellow wall at the end of the Tullamarine Freeway. It is actually a storm-water treatment and re-use system which has been turned into a little wetland and parkland area that was absolutely teeming with birds this morning. I think I got more good bird photographs in one outing there this morning than I have in any other single outing to date. Here are some of my favourites from this mornings visit (more on Flickr).

Rainbow Lorikeet 2012-04-08 (_MG_6268)
Rainbow Lorikeet

Royal Spoonbill 2012-04-08 (_MG_6294)
Royal Spoonbill “reflecting on one leg”

Brown Falcon 2012-04-08 (_MG_6392)
Brown Falcon

4 Responses to “Happy Easter …”

  1. Tish Says:

    Happy Easter to you! Just back from an Easter sunrise service. I wish I had your camera (and your talent!) because the sun coming up over the river was gorgeous. Great pix. I really like seeing them. I think the little ball of fluff with a blue tail was my favorite. Hoping for another bike ride today–taking advantage of the beautiful weather.

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Your pictures are of otherwordly beauty, Andrew! I so much enjoy your recently adventure into photography! 😀

    Happy Easter to you and your family!

  3. Ewen Says:

    Good shots there Andrew. Pretty hard to take a bad photo of a Rainbow Lorikeet. I’m always thinking the setting moon would make a good photo on the runs I’ve been on when that’s happening.

  4. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    The photos are stunning. Many of them would make good paintings. Thanks for all of these!

Leave a Reply

