Digital Show

Up early again this morning and drove into the city for a bit of a photo walk. I had about a two and a half hour walk around the city, then made it to the Exhibition Centre by 10am for the Digital Photography show that is on currently. Wow, lots and lots of opportunities to spend money on photography gear, it could have been really dangerous. I thought I might be in trouble when I spent $200 at the very first stand I visited, but fortunately I slowed down after that and only spent another $30 for the rest of the morning. I picked up a copy of the Topaz Suite (imaging software) for about $400 off the usual price, so was happy with that.

The two photos below are two of my shots from this morning, both of some of Melbourne’s street art. The first one is “Angel”, a surreal sculpture by Victorian artist Deborah Halpern. It started life in the moat of the National Gallery of Victoria, but now lives in Birrarung Marr alongside the Yarra River. The second is three gentlemen who are eternally waiting to cross Swanston Street. They always remind me of “the gentlemen” from the silent episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer – anyone remember that?

I’m off to Thailand tonight on a business trip for the week, so I have no idea how connected I’ll be, or how busy, so if I go quiet, that’s why.

Angel 2012-05-27 (_MG_8514_5_6)
“Angel” on Birrarung Marr

Eternally waiting 2012-05-27 (_MG_8475_6_7)
Eternally waiting to cross the street

5 Responses to “Digital Show”

  1. Ewen Thompson (@EwenThompson) Says:

    You’ve captured two of Melbourne’s 4 seasons in that top photo – sun and storms 😉 I like Melbourne’s street art.

  2. Tish Says:

    I misread the title of your post and the word SNOW caught my eye. I know our seasons are reversed and we’re getting hot and sticky, but surely it’s too early for snow! That digital sHow sounds dangerous–as DH would say, “$400 OFF!”

  3. morseyruns Says:

    I think those three gentlemen as supposed to represent Bourke Wills and some other explorer type??

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Love the sculptures! The men remind me of the grey men from Michael Ende’s novel “Momo” … Do you know that one?

  5. Em Says:

    I adore the Angel sculpture, I love running past her (I’ve always thought of her as a her).

Leave a Reply

