Rayong, Thailand

Well, I’m safely in Rayong, Thailand. The flight was uneventful, and I think I even slept a bit, which is very unusual for me. However, I was feeling distinctly seedy in the stomach yesterday, so I think something I ate on the plane disagreed with me. The hotel I’m staying in is okay, but it definitely looked better in the pictures on the internet (don’t they always). The hotel is right on the beach, but it isn’t a beach I’d swim in (well, nobody else was) and it was quite dirty.

There were lots of street vendors setting up stalls all day along the beach front, and I was a little puzzled as to who their customers were supposed to be. As evening came around though it became obvious that a common local pastime is to gather on the beach, play loud music and generally party until midnight. Given my room fronts the beach, I was glad I’d bought some headphones to help block out the noise.

Due to feeling seedy, I skipped dinner last night and went to bed about 7:30pm.

The first day in the office today went pretty well, my company is setting up two new large manufacturing facilities here. Now, I think I might have another early night because tomorrow night I am out to dinner with the team from the office here.

I have only taken the small compact camera again on this trip, so photos are not of the best quality, but here are a few anyway just to prove that I am actually here.

The overriding thought going through my head as I look around me, is how lucky we are to live where we do, with the lifestyle we have.

Kantary Bay beach sunset 2012-05-28  (P5280027)
Sunset last night on the beach front opposite the hotel

Religious tribute 2012-05-29 (P5290042)
Religious tribute on the beach front

Local supermarket 2012-05-29 (P5290041)
The local supermarket?

4 Responses to “Rayong, Thailand”

  1. An expat Wife Says:

    Oh No, I hope you feel better soon Andrew.

    Yes the lucky thought goes through my head every time I head out of my little compound here in Bangkok. It can be quite confronting sometimes. Some of the shops are no more than sheds with dirt floors, I have never been to Rayong but there are so many makeshift homes in the middle of mountains of garbage here. It’s hard not to feel guilty for being more fortunate.

    That’s a pretty amazing photo of a dirty beach with a compact camera!

    Hope those Bose headphones are helping keep out the noise.

    ps: your blog banner is really lovely

  2. Kathryn Says:

    Gorgeous pics even if it is only your compact camera 🙂

    I’m not sure about being lucky. Maybe those people in makeshift houses are a lot happier than people living in Melbs with huge mortgages to pay. Of course, I’d never live in a wooden hut through a Melbourne winter!

  3. oldgirlnewtricks Says:

    Nice photos. I guess you are seeing life as the locals live it. Hope work is not too exhausting. Can’t wait for more photos from Australia.

  4. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Aww, Thailand! I kind of envy you! 😀 A friend of mine was in Thailand recently and told me about his travels and aww, I want to go there one day myself! 😀

Leave a Reply

