Suvarnabhumi …

Suvarnabhumi is Bangkok’s international airport, and I know it well having spent about nine hours there in the last day. I had my driver drive me the two hours to the airport when I finished work in the office yesterday, so I arrived there around five hours early for my midnight flight. We boarded the plane on time, but then sat on the tarmac due to “technical difficulties”. After a little over an hour we were asked to leave the plane and sit in the gate lounge (where we were at least served refreshments). Turns out they had a major failure of the main onboard navigational computer and were having trouble fixing it. Just over three hours in the gate lounge, had us running a little over four hours late. Still, it’s better than having the computer fail mid-flight, I guess.

Anyway, home safe and sound, looking forward to the weekend.

Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport 2012-05-31 (P5310063)
“Churn of the Milk Ocean” sculpture

Bangkok Suvarnabhumi Airport 2012-05-31 (P6010071)
The main concourse including Gate E3, which I know well

2 Responses to “Suvarnabhumi …”

  1. Ewen Says:

    At least you weren’t sitting in the plane for 3 hours like my friends were in Athens when they flew back from their last European trip. Ah, the joys of travel!

  2. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Ugh, airport times … At least you’re home safely now, that’s good to hear! 🙂

Leave a Reply

