Long weekend …

It is a long weekend in Melbourne this weekend with a public holiday on Monday to celebrate the Queen’s Birthday. Being English I am a supporter of the monarchy, but not a fanatical one, happy to take a day off work to celebrate her birthday, that’s for sure.

Adrienne and I travelled down to Geelong yesterday to visit our parent’s. My dad is unwell again, and facing some surgery soon we think, and it wasn’t good to see him in pain and not looking too good. It makes you feel so helpless, really nothing you can do except be there and offer help and support. I really don’t want to grow old. Speaking of which, out in the car today I was listening to Pink Floyd (as I often do) and the following line of lyrics was heard, “Work like fuck until you’re sixty-five, then your time’s your own until you die”, depressing words, but quite honestly that’s what it is starting to feel like.

I have risen early both days so far his weekend and ventured out with my camera. Yesterday the weather was not good so I headed into Melbourne University to shoot an area I’ve had on my list for a while which is basically under cover, so protected from the weather. Melbourne University has some beautiful old buildings, and the walkways around the quadrangle of the Old Arts Building are amongst the best of them. I knew I wanted to be there early, to avoid human traffic, and also to ensure the lighting was still on, as I knew that would add to the photograph hugely. Here’s one of the shots I took, there are more on Flickr including a couple of panorama’s I’m pleased with.

Melbourne University Old Arts 2012-06-09 (_MG_8788-91)
Old Arts Building, Melbourne University

This morning I was up early again and headed into the city. Despite the forecast showers, and somewhat threatening skies, the rain held off long enough for me to enjoy a couple of hours walking around the city, and breakfast (and a wonderful coffee) at Brunetti’s.

Adrienne and I went out for lunch and did a little shopping, and later in the day Kate and I headed out with our camera’s to The Nook in Sunbury. Obviously, one of the perils of going out with another photographer is that you will inevitably end up on the other side of the camera. Here’s me, in a pretty typical pose these days, captured by my beautiful daughter. I think I need to Photoshop out all that grey hair though!

Dad

3 Responses to “Long weekend …”

  1. Ewen Says:

    Na. Only a girl would do that 😉

  2. David Jenkins Says:

    G,day,
    The Melb Uni buildings are great. Lovely feel with the mixed lighting and the strong columns. Has a ‘could walk into it feel’.
    Well done.

    DJ

  3. offthelongrun Says:

    Mate – be grateful she still have some! grey or otherwise

Leave a Reply

