Up close and personal …

The gardens at Lemonade Creek Cottages were a great place to get some practice with my new macro lens (for those of you interested it is a Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM lens). Macro photography is new to me, and it seems quite difficult, at higher magnifications you really need to have a steady hand. Needless to say there were quite a few bad shots, but fortunately some good ones too. Here are some of my favourites.

Thistle 2012-02-18 (_MG_3047)
These thistle heads show amazing symmetry

Bush rat 2012-02-18 (_MG_3037)
The little native Bush rat (Rattus fuscipes assimilis) is really cute and not at all like those horrible domestic rats, they do damage plant roots though.

Bottlebrush flower 2012-02-18 (_MG_3032)
Bottlebrush flower

Skink 2012-02-18 (_MG_3016)
A little Skink lazing around the pool deck

Fern frond 2012-02-18 (_MG_2977)
I love the way young tree fern fronds “unfurl”

Grevillea flower 2012-02-17 (_MG_2738)
Grevillea flower

Lilium flower 2012-02-17 (_MG_2736)
Lilium flower

10 Responses to “Up close and personal …”

  1. Tish Says:

    Okay, you’ve done it. Add Lemonade Creek to my Must See list. Your pix are beautiful– the thistle heads was my favorite.

    • ajh Says:

      That one is my favourite too I think. They were just near where we parked our car and as soon as I saw them I knew they would make a great close-up photo.

  2. Carla Says:

    You really have a gift for capturing nature’s beauty. Viewing the photos on my iPhone was absolutely stunning.

  3. sassydrcil Says:

    a new career, perhaps?
    could you take my photo and make me look as pretty? 😀

    • ajh Says:

      Hmmm … I wish. Although I imagine a photographers life could be stressful too, I heard a story about one who gave it up because they couldn’t bear the stress of mucking up people’s weddings and other special occassions.

      Re taking your photo. Did you notice that there’s one thing not in many (any) of my photos. People. I suck at portraits. So I need to get some learning and practice in on that front first!

  4. Ewen Says:

    Nice shots Andrew. The narrow depth of field would make it tricky too. Good lens for the job.

  5. Pippa * Jeanne Says:

    WOW, those thistle heads especially … speechless at their beauty! I LOOOOOOVE macros – seems this is a talented area for you, too, Andrew.

    Personally I love photos with a shallow DOF, really places the foreground into tighter focus. Great job!

  6. Kath (My Funny Little Life) Says:

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwweeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 *hops from the left to the right leg and back* Look at that rat nose! 😀 😀 And oooooooooohhhhhhh, the beautiful flowers! The thistle heads are *fractals* indeed, and look at the other flower heads, they’re too! It becomes most obvious in the tree fern and the Grevillea. Oh, how much do I love nature! It’s the most intelligent system of all times! And so beautiful and creative on top of it!

Leave a comment